Pumpkin Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
We made these for a party to serve with chili and everyone loved them! We omitted the pecans but otherwise followed the recipe. They turned out great as muffins and in a 9 x 9 pan. I will definitely make these again and try adding pumpkin spice as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
These came out awful for me...they were lumpy and had no flavor. I followed the recipe exactly so I don't know where I went wrong. Judging by the other reviews it should've been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
There was no way I wouldn't like these as I love pumpkin and I love cornbread. Still, I think they could use a little extra flavour. I thought of adding cinnamon but wasn't sure it would go with cornbread. Perhaps vanilla? Or no, I have it - a splash of orange juice!! Next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This recipe is a keeper. The men in my family really enjoyed them. I followed the recipe except that I used walnuts which I had on hand. Can't wait till I try them made with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious! I thought these would be mediocre, but I wanted to try it out. WOW, the texture, moistness, and density is so perfect! So tasty too, but I added some spices for the more pumpkin-like fall taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These muffins are really delicious. I replaced the oil with more pumpkin and added cinnamon and ginger. They turned out fantastic! So much flavour, very moist, and the perfect mix of my two favourite muffins! Much better than I even thought they would be :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These weren't the "bomb," but they are good & I will make them again. I didn't add the nuts. That seemed odd for cornbread. Only had light brown sugar. Subtle pumpkin taste, but that's what you want if you're having cornbread, not pumpkin bread. BTW why add pumpkin bread spices to cornbread?! Just because there's pumpkin in it? Maybe those who did could add cornmeal to their pumpkin bread & like it better. Just sayin' :D Almost 2T pumpkin per serving. Yeah! Vitamin A! Did mine at 425 for 15. Not dry at all - considering we're dealing with cornbread, not cake - or pumpkin bread. :) Next day review: My cornbread lovin' boy (13) didn't like these. His cornbread nonlovin' sister (11) didn't either. Huh. Guess I'll try the pumpkin trick in the ususal recipes - Grandmother's buttermilk, golden sweet or homesteader. Third day review: He now likes 'em. They moistened up & he wants these again. He thought I'd tried another recipe. There was that much of a change. Yeah, Vitamin A (again)! 7.12 Tried w sweet potato & white sugar. Good, too - & easier to mix w white. 'Made 12 muffs, done in 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Love these. I actully used Jiffy corn mix, 1 can pumpkin and 1 egg, and baked muffins for 12-15 min.....came out perfect! They taste like corn bread but are nice and moist. Next time I'm making with mashed sweet potates to go with a Carribean theme! My kids loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina C.
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Awesome! I added a splash on vanilla extract and about a tsp of pumpkin pie spice. These were wonderful warm with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Yuumy! Moist and dense. We used applesauce, no oil, and only a 1/4 quarter cup brown sugar to serve with our chili. Next time I'll keep the full sugar and add the pumpkin pie spice with some crumble topping for a sweeter option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States