Pumpkin Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I made this cornbread to go with some pumpkin chili I made -- these were top notch! The pumpkin made it moist and cake-like, not dry and crumbly, making you want to choke, like most cornbread I've had! I substituted 1/4c applesauce in for the oil, and also used 1/4c whole wheat flour with 3/4c all-purpose flour. Would be great with butter, but they were best eaten plain when they came out of the oven, I didn't want to spoil the delicate pumpkin taste. These seem like they would even hold up to a sweeter, chocolate-chip breakfast version (probably a cornbread sin of some sort, though?)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
i love cornbread and have been on a pumpkin kick lately so this sounded like a good idea. i just pulled the muffins out of the oven and they are delicious!! perfect hint of sweetness and pumpkin and i didn't have to change a thing about the recipe! i can't wait to share these w/ my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I am not usually inspired to write reviews, but this recipe is a keeper! I think these basically taste like corn muffins, but the pumpkin makes them so moist and delicious! They don't crumble like regular corn muffins usually do, and they just have a bit more character. They went well with baked beans on a winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I had to use whole wheat flour and walnuts as that was what I had on hand and I thought they turned out great. A healthy quick breakfast with honey or jam, but equally good with soup as Christi Larsen says. I would not add any spices as it would seem more like a dessert and would not go with everything so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nobel, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I love these! This has become my go-to recipe for corn muffins & I make them often. I make the recipe exactly as written, although I sometimes used another cooked, mashed winter squash (butternut, acorn, kabocha, etc.) instead of pumpkin. I love the addition of the pumpkin - extra nutrition plus it keeps the leftovers moist, unlike other corn bread recipes. Love the added flavor & texture of the pecans, too. I often have these with stew or a soup for dinner, then have the leftovers with jam for breakfast the next morning or send them in my kids' lunches. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Even adding cinnamon, ginger, pumpkin spice, & vanilla... these barely had any flavor. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
i made these muffins with a mexican-themed chicken cassarole, because i had some leftover pumpkin in the freezer from the holidays. my kids and boyfriend loved them. i didn't deviate at all from the recipe, and they are not a dessert muffin at all, more of a cornbread taste, but very good. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Panda Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I used some spare strawberry-flavored applesauce in place of the oil and these muffins turned out DELICIOUS! I also added about a tstp. of pumpkin pie spice. Very moist and flavorful, much more so than normal cornbread. My husband and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda Cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I'm always looking for ways to use pumpkin so I gave this one a try. My only modification to this recipe was to add a streusel topping of 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. chopped pecans, and 1 Tbsp. butter. I topped each muffin with a bit of this mixture and baked (reduced temp. to 400 based on other comments). I thought they were just okay but my family gobbled them all up. Just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This recipe is really yummy. Cornbread with a hint of pumpkin and very moist. It doesn't turn out as well if you don't make them in muffin tins. The center doesn't get done. I didn't use nuts and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States