Pumpkin Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Yuumy! Moist and dense. We used applesauce, no oil, and only a 1/4 quarter cup brown sugar to serve with our chili. Next time I'll keep the full sugar and add the pumpkin pie spice with some crumble topping for a sweeter option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Delicious! What a great way to sneak some pumpkin in. I've made this recipe exactly as is and with a few changes. The main change I recommend is to add the entire can of pumpkin versus just 1 cup. Dark brown sugar is a must as well, so no substitutes with light brown sugar. Using applesauce in place of the oil works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
The overall flavor of these muffins was good, but they came out a little on the dry side. As others have said, they are like corn muffins with just a hint of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McCambridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These were ok but they lacked luster. They need a lil more spice. If I were to make them again I'd add a lil allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made these sugar free using splenda and sugar free maple syrup for the brown sugar. I also used whole wheat flour. They are terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
made these the night before for a quick out the door Sunday breakfast. loved the crunch and texture from the cornmeal. made a few changes. used unsweetend applesauce and a couple tablespoons of butter. they were nice and moist from the pumpkin and yummy with my morning coffee. will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
These are wonderful! They are not too sweet, so they can be served with chili/soup. The pumpkin makes them moist (and healthy). You've got to try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDANGIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Pretty good...mine came out a bit dry, but the flavor was decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I made this cornbread to go with some pumpkin chili I made -- these were top notch! The pumpkin made it moist and cake-like, not dry and crumbly, making you want to choke, like most cornbread I've had! I substituted 1/4c applesauce in for the oil, and also used 1/4c whole wheat flour with 3/4c all-purpose flour. Would be great with butter, but they were best eaten plain when they came out of the oven, I didn't want to spoil the delicate pumpkin taste. These seem like they would even hold up to a sweeter, chocolate-chip breakfast version (probably a cornbread sin of some sort, though?)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
i love cornbread and have been on a pumpkin kick lately so this sounded like a good idea. i just pulled the muffins out of the oven and they are delicious!! perfect hint of sweetness and pumpkin and i didn't have to change a thing about the recipe! i can't wait to share these w/ my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States