Pumpkin Cookies with Penuche Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were very good! I use butter instead of shortening, and chopped, dried figs instead of walnuts. Tonight I am going with chocolate chips. Very good with a maple frosting also. Just 1/2 C icing sugar and about 1 Tbl maple syrup, and just enough water for drizzling consistency. Thanks for a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
These are wonderful. I make them as bars in a 9 x 13 pan. Everyone loves them. The frosting is very sweet but delicious!! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
These cookies are so delicious!!... To ice them I dipped them in the pan I made the icing in, face down, while they were still a little warm.. I placed them on a rack with some tin foil underneath so the icing wouldnt drip on the counter... After I iced the last cookie I started over with the first and dipped them again.. They tasted like glazed doughnuts when they were completely cooled... I added them to my Christmas goodie, and had requests for the recipe.. Im gonna try them with mashed banana next time and then maybe a mixture of pumpkin and banana.. mmmmm Kiki (Brampton,ON Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Huge hit. Made these on a rainy day. My daughter tried a cookie and said "this is better than the stuff" meaning the batter she licked off the beaters. One BIG difference though I used a tin of ED Smith Pumpkin Pie Filling as they didn't have puree. I also patted down the batter after spooning it on the cookie sheet so they were not as cakie. Also, the icing was a bit sweet but only if you iced the whole cookie so I just drizzled it across them and WOWIE amazing. They turned out phenominal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
These were just wonderful - I made them for a cookie exchange, and they vanished. I actually got more than the 4 dozen - I used a 2 tsp cookie scoop, and ended up with small round cookies that I just could dip in the icing - they looked like little bon bons. I thought the icing was perfect for these cookies - the brown sugar gave a nice caramel touch, and the icing hardened nicely so they didn't all stick together on the plate. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOPRANO39

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
My husband and I thought these were great. Fluffy and delicious. I think next time I'll add a bit of the Pumpin Pie Spice to it and just a bit more of the pumpkin puree. I also liked the frosting but a little less sugar and a splash of vanilla would make it a bit better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
These are delicious cookies iced or not. The recipe made less than 40 cookies for me each time I made it (more like 30 - 35), but the icing was enough to frost 52 cookies. I used half unsalted butter and half shortening after the first time I made this recipe and I think it added a little more flavor. These would be good with a cream cheese icing, too. I'll probably try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
These are EXTREMELY good cookies. They are so soft and moist even after storage. I didn't like the thought of a "hardened" candy like frosting, so I didn't go for the penuche. I instead did a homemade buttercream frosting that gives it just the right amount of sweetness, but you don't need to be heavy handed with it. Just the slightest amount is perfect. The kids begged to pass these out to their friends so we made more. I will continue to use this wonderful recipe. I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Strain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This recipe was only ok. They tasted more like a spice cookie. The pumpkin wasn't very strong at all. They were very soft though. The frosting was also just ok. It tasted just like a hard coat of sugar on top. I made the mistake of making the frosting before I was done baking all of the cookies. The frosting hardens very quickly once removed from heat, and you can't spread it on the cookies. I did just reheat it and that made it smooth again for a short time, but I had barely finished frosting the cookies before it had completely hardened again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These were *so* yummy and the perfect thing to eat on our cold, drizzly days. I baked the batter in a glass 13x9 pan for 25 mins. and the bars were perfect -- moist, and a nice balance between cake-like and fudgy. The frosting is fantastic and works so well with the pumpkin. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States