Pumpkin Cookies with Penuche Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
These cookies are very easy to make and taste great! I didn't spread the icing all over the cookie; I made swirls. Next time I will cut the icing recipe in half...I had LOTS left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
My husband and I thought these were great. Fluffy and delicious. I think next time I'll add a bit of the Pumpin Pie Spice to it and just a bit more of the pumpkin puree. I also liked the frosting but a little less sugar and a splash of vanilla would make it a bit better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Very good recipe. Very tasty cookie that is cake-like in texture. The icing is very sweet and I only used 3/4s of the powdered sugar the recipe calls for(sets up very quickly but can be softened by putting in the microwave on high for 10 seconds). A keeper folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Soft & yummy!! I didn't make the frosting, we ate half of them hot off the pan. I used a mixture of raisins, dates, and walnuts instead of just nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
These are EXTREMELY good cookies. They are so soft and moist even after storage. I didn't like the thought of a "hardened" candy like frosting, so I didn't go for the penuche. I instead did a homemade buttercream frosting that gives it just the right amount of sweetness, but you don't need to be heavy handed with it. Just the slightest amount is perfect. The kids begged to pass these out to their friends so we made more. I will continue to use this wonderful recipe. I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Strain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
My family enjoyed this recipe very much. I personally like the frosting which is different and goes well with the pumpkin flavor. I would double the recipe next time as I didn't get 4 doz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Huge hit. Made these on a rainy day. My daughter tried a cookie and said "this is better than the stuff" meaning the batter she licked off the beaters. One BIG difference though I used a tin of ED Smith Pumpkin Pie Filling as they didn't have puree. I also patted down the batter after spooning it on the cookie sheet so they were not as cakie. Also, the icing was a bit sweet but only if you iced the whole cookie so I just drizzled it across them and WOWIE amazing. They turned out phenominal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
you know what these taste like? the pumpkin scones from Starbucks. And just like the scones, the topping is really really sweet. the only real difference is that the texture isn't as dense. I can see how it would make a good bar. I got 48 normal sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungrygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
These are wonderful. I make them as bars in a 9 x 13 pan. Everyone loves them. The frosting is very sweet but delicious!! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This recipe was only ok. They tasted more like a spice cookie. The pumpkin wasn't very strong at all. They were very soft though. The frosting was also just ok. It tasted just like a hard coat of sugar on top. I made the mistake of making the frosting before I was done baking all of the cookies. The frosting hardens very quickly once removed from heat, and you can't spread it on the cookies. I did just reheat it and that made it smooth again for a short time, but I had barely finished frosting the cookies before it had completely hardened again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States