Pumpkin Cookies with Penuche Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Sorry, I just can't get past the "mushy" texture. I am truly surprised by all the great reviews. We were disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeefJerkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Years ago I worked in a little shop that made Penuche fudge and so that is why I picked these particular pumpkin cookies..I didn't like them right out of the oven...too cakey...But after I drizzled on the frosting and let them sit a while in the fridge they were perfect! I did end up adding more spice's and left out the nuts (hubby doesn't like them)..We have family visiting from out of town and they passed up my caramel apples and gobbled up these! Great recipe Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
The texture of this cookie is a lovely delicate light cake. I did not make the frosting because I had some cream cheese frosting I needed to use up. The cookie could easily stand on its own; it is not sickening sweet, but with a frosting it would not be overly sweet. I did use fresh pumpkin, upped the cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp, added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, ground clove, and cardamom. If you like a bit spicier cookie, you can easily add your own spice blends. Lovely recipe and wonderful texture. Yield was 58 cookies using the pampered chef stainless steel size small cookie scoop. Decorated with a candy corn on top to give away to the neighbors for a Halloween treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terka
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
these are really really good. i added a little bit of pumpkin spice to it as well. i halved the icing like others suggested but then i didn't have enough icing for maybe a dozen cookies...though, i'm pretty sure that we just went overboard on the first few out of the oven. the icing is really good and compliments the cookie really well. they are even better the next day. i made these again and made 20 larger cookies (instead of 48 tiny ones) and still halved the icing and it worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was a good pumpkin cookie although I haven't tried others. However, it is not a cookie I love or would crave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
These are delicious. I also halved the icing recipe and had plenty, as you do not want to drown the cookies in it. The icing is really good. Sometimes I add currants to the recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Sorry I couldn't give this a different rating- it surely deserves a 10+..holy cow what a delicious cookie, the best pumpkin cookie I've ever tasted. I added a little ginger and cloves along with the cinnamon, they were good without the frosting but with it..I could eat them all myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Oooh yummy! This is an awesome and easy recipe that I will save in my recipe box! Only one modification which is to 1/2 the icing measurments. In order to get the 48 cookies out of this recipe you have to make teeny cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoyhoyCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
love this cookie. take it to work and they cant get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
These cookies are very easy to make and taste great! I didn't spread the icing all over the cookie; I made swirls. Next time I will cut the icing recipe in half...I had LOTS left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States