Pumpkin Cookies with Penuche Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
The cookies sound fabulous, but I'm only rating the frosting. :) I needed to ice the Pumpkin Bundt Cake off this site, and this frosting (cut down to 32 servings: 2 TBS margarine, 1/3 cup brown sugar, a couple TBS of milk, and a cup of icing sugar) was soooo fabulous. It really complements the pumpkin-spice flavour. Try it! I'll likely make the cookies tomorrow as I still have a cup of pumpkin to use up. Thanks for sharing, Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
OMG!! This was the best cookie recipe I have ever made! Since weight loss surgery I have worked on converting most recipes to sugarfree so I can eat them, and this recipe was no exception. I used splenda and splenda brown sugar for the replacement of sugar, in equal amounts to the recipe (splenda often recommends cutting the amt of splenda to the amt of sugar). I did leave off the icing in this recipe and created an icing that was a cream cheese based frosting, in a sugar free version, and put it in a dish on the side for an optional garnish to a wonderful cookie. This was so great I had to make another batch the next day just to have some more for the family. I also added 1/4 tsp of cloves and nutmeg to this recipe. Great flavor, cant wait to serve these cookies for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This recipe is very similar to the one in the original betty crocker cookbook.... I'd say the cookie part of this recipe is about perfect (except without the nuts!) However when it comes to the penuche i do something very peculiar... first of all, I definitely add vanilla.... 2nd of all... i cook all the ingredients together in the pan, constantly stirring, and add it to the cookies in stages... when it first hits the thick carmelly stage i spread a bit of that over the cookies... and wait til it gets a bit thicker and spread some more... and then when it finally gets to the stage where it's ready to harden up... i cap the cookies off with that everybody i know loooooooves these cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dinataruni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This is a fantastic pumpkin cookie recipe. The cookies come out fluffy and cake-like and they're aren't super sweet. Having the sweet frosting on top gives your mouth a burst of sweet with the wonderful mix of pumpkin flavor. My family requests these cookies from me every fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Every time I make these run out before I can get some for myself. The best way that I have figured out to frost is to put it in a pastry bag and drizzle it. Wonderful! Great moist cookies with a great frosting. You can take the penuche frosting recipe and add it to cream cheese to add to the center of a pumpkin roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
WOW! I would rate this 10 or more if I could! Thank you so much for this awesome cookie recipe! I did add 1/2 tsp each of cloves and freshly ground nutmeg. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe is far too sweet to add icing. It is quite moist, though. Also, it didn't have enough spice. I tripled the amount of spice and used pumpkin pie spice instead of plain cinnamon. Next time I'll dramatically reduce the sugar to detract from the sweetness. I also substituted raisins for 1/2 of the walnuts and subbed butter for 1/2 the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Oh my goodness. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yourmominavolvo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
These are delicious!!! They are my new favorite cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Oaks, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
A new fam favorite. I added pumpkin pie spice and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States