Pumpkin Cookies with Penuche Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
YUMMY! These were more like soft little cakes with a sweet penuche fudge-like frosting/icing. Like eating a miniature cake. I tested the recipe by making some large and some small and they were both great. The only negative is that the icing hardens fairly quickly, so it's better to make all the cookies at once, let them all cool, then make the icing and frost them all. I made the icing a bit too early, but it was fine, as I just re-heated it a little to make it more spreadable. These were a big hit...thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Having grown up loving penuche frosting (it's awesome on chocolate cake), when I saw it on Pumpkin cookies, I HAD to try it. I made the recipe exactly as written. These cookies got great reviews from pretty much everybody. Even my toddler loved them. They are a little "cakey" in texture. I wanted to point out a positive- compared to other cookies, they are slightly lower in fat. As soon as the frosting starts to thicken, and you are not done frosting the cookies, pop it in the microwave for 10 seconds- it's soooo much easier to frost the cookies, and the results will look a lot smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie k

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
i took some liberties with this recipe when i made it, i subbed half the shortening for margarine, and the other half with palm oil (i make soap so i always have a ton of it). i also subbed half the flour with white whole wheat, then i used 1T ground flaxseed and 3T water to sub for the egg (i'm making them for xmas gifts and have a few vegans they're going to). and i skipped the frosting, dusting them with cinnamon sugar instead. they turned out wonderful, for anyone looking for a lightly sweet yummy and delicate cookie, this recipe hits the mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
My mom used to make these, but we lost the recipe. So glad I found this one. I have not tried the frosting yet, mainly because the cookies usually get eaten before they are even cooled! I usually double the batch. My brother in law can eat one batch by himself and he is NOT fond of sweets (another reason for not using the frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These were *so* yummy and the perfect thing to eat on our cold, drizzly days. I baked the batter in a glass 13x9 pan for 25 mins. and the bars were perfect -- moist, and a nice balance between cake-like and fudgy. The frosting is fantastic and works so well with the pumpkin. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I made these in a 9 X 13 pan as another reviewer had suggested (time saver). I cooked them about 20 minutes. They turned out awesome! My husband has always liked penuche fudge so I new we had to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
The frosting is what makes this cookie! I actually use a similar pumpkin cookie recipe from this site(because I don't like shortening) and used this frosting. I don't like pumpkin at all but I gobbled these down! I had to make another batch for the kids! This is our second year to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Flavorful and keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I made them on a Friday after work, thinking I'd get a jump on my weekend baking so hubby could have desert in his lunch the next week. BIG mistake. By Sunday eevening they were GONE! Ended up having to bake again anyway. LOL I made these in a 9x13 pan, as was suggested by a previous reviewer, and just poured the frosting over the whole thing. These are very cakey in texture and my icing never set up hard like some commented. These are wonderful! Only change I made was to cut the shortening in half and compensate with additional pumpkin. Cut the fat and bosted the flavor of the pumpkin. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I have ben making these morsels for years. Everyone asks for them when they start thinking "pumpkin". I add a cup of raisens which make them extra special, or make half with and half without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States