Pumpkin Cookies with Penuche Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These are super yummy! I must admit, we never even get to make the frosting before the cookies are all gone. ;) I've done them with and without the nuts, and they're both wonderful! They're almost like a cake consistency...and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this "cookie" as a cupcake. Scoop the batter out of your bowl with an ice cream scoop. Place into paper cups in your cupcake tray. Bake for about 20 minutes or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. I substituted coconut for chopped nuts and butter for shortening. The result was a fluffy cupcake that had a lovely muffin top. I frosted mine with a cream cheese frosting. So good, I'm not sharing with anyone outside of my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knit chic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were very good! I use butter instead of shortening, and chopped, dried figs instead of walnuts. Tonight I am going with chocolate chips. Very good with a maple frosting also. Just 1/2 C icing sugar and about 1 Tbl maple syrup, and just enough water for drizzling consistency. Thanks for a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
WOW!! I made these, and they were a HIT!! Both my mother and husband could not stop snacking on them. The cookie is not too sweet, like a nice pumpkin bread with a cake texture. And the glaze really was the sweet part. For those who want to keep the sweetness out, just leave the glaze off. But we're sweet-a-holics, so the glaze was just the perfect pairing! Mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anelson825

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Olivehurst, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Probably only a 3-star rating because I fudged with the recipe a little because I had a TON of pumpkin to get rid of. Followed another reviewer and replaced shortening with butter and replaced half the butter with more pumpkin and made "cakie bars". A little too wet for my taste but more dry ingredients would've covered it. Frosting was hard and pretty on top of the cakie cookies, but while we ate dinner, the frosted dessert rested under the stove light and caused the pretty frosting to melt into the cakies. Probably another reason that they were so gooey. I also added maple flavoring to the frosting and while the flavor on these cakies was awesome, I will probably not make them again unless I just want to perfect my own version of them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I thought these were so so. I made them according to the recipie but they weren't as sweet as I was hoping for a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasuther

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I am just reviewing the penuche, as I used a different cookie recipe. I added a tsp of maple extract and it was a wonderful compliment to the pumpkin cookies. I loved how well it drizzled over the cookies and hardened for a nice finish. Tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was delicious!! I made some of the adjustments I read in other reviews... I used butter since I don't cook with shortening... Anyway I used half the amount of butter and substituted the rest of the butter with pumpkin (ended up using one can of pumpkin). Then I also added 1/2 tsp. of cloves and nutmeg (each) and an extra 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. I cooked it in a 9 x 13 pan and it came out wonderful! More like cake than bars, pretty much the size and consistency of a boxed cake. I also added a tsp. of vanilla to the frosting. It is a sweet frosting but its a wonderful compliment to the cake! sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
For penuche lovers, these cookies are irresistible! Mid-recipe, I ran out of all-purpose flour and had to use 1/2 cup whole wheat flour...but they still turned out wonderfully. My only suggestion is not to reduce baking time below 10 minutes...that makes them way too soft and they tend to crumble. Great as-is recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States