Pumpkin Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I am giving this a five for it being a good recipe. It is a SUPER MOIST cookie and should not at all be put in an airtight container. If you cook it to golden brown it will ruin the flavor. It must be cooked just before browning. I had to play with my cook time and temp a bit cause if it isn't cooked enough they are a little soggy and if it is cooked too much the flavor goes away. I ended up cooking mine at 325 for 15 min. I chilled the dough and rolled them into balls. Then I covered the balls with wax paper and squished them down with a measuring cup. I put the frosting and choc. sprinkles on top. When you let them sit out the do firm up more and are great. I would like to try the icing from Cinabon on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Turned out fantastic!! Very tasty!! I used 1 tsp of the "Pumpkin Pie Spice II" instead of cinnamon. (I didn't have cloves so I used allspice inplace of that) And I put the dough in the freezer about5-10 minutes before I made them into balls (and between bathces) and they balled up fine. I also flattened them just a bit with a measuring cup immediately after I took them out of the oven and they were perfect! Cooked on 350 for 12 minutes. Mmm...mmm...mmm... good, will make again! I actually prefer these over the pumpkin roll. Easier to make and just as tasty....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This is an amazing cookie.This lasted all of 1 hour at Thanksgiving today. These cookies must be stored in a tin container so they don't sog. They were soft and had a wonderful pumpkin flavor. I did not use cream cheese frosting. Instead I used the cream cheese filling from a pumpkin roll recipe and added cinnamon. I used that for frosting.(You can find the filling in all recipes granny kats pumpkin roll) When this recipe is done correctly the finish product is outstanding. My family is very big on baking and this cookie is the best pumpkin cookie yet. The trick to this cookie is not to over cook. The batter is impossible to roll into a ball as suggested, just drop by the teaspoon. Enjoy !!!! Marisol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARISOLGROETSCH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
For whatever reason, I can never just do a recipe verbatim, and this was no exception. SO, I can't compare what I did to the original recipe, but everyone who tried my version LOVED them (including a "real" chef). ... Here are the changes I made (everything else stayed the same as the original recipe): - 1 cup of unsalted butter (instead of butter flavored shortening), - 1/2 cup white sugar + 1/2 cup brown sugar, - 15 ounce can of pumpkin, - 2.75 cups whole wheat flour, - 1/2 bag of cinnamon chips. ... Rather than using premade frosting, I used this recipe ( http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/Creamy-Cream-Cheese-Frosting/ ) and then topped them with some gold-pearl rock sugar (for presentation mostly, but it added a nice extra touch of sweetness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I found the dough very difficult to work with; it was almost impossible to roll the cookies into a ball. The finished product had a nice cake like consistency, but the flavor was very bland. I had to tell everyone they were pumpkin flavored since they could not tell by the taste. I made them the night before Thanksgiving and they became very soggy overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
These cookies were very moist. I shared them with friends and everyone was asking for the recipe. I added chocolate chips and skipped the frosting. My dough was very sticky so the cookie was rather lumpy, not ideal for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
These cookies were moist and delicious. I took them to a potluck and was asked for the recipe by several people. Though some people thought the dough was hard to work with, I didn't bother rolling them into balls. I used a small cookie dough scooper and scooped 1" balls onto the greased cookie sheets. They came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Try making with pumpkin flavored pudding...awesome taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
WOW! excellent cookie. I made a couple of changes thow. I used 1/2 of a 40oz can of sweet potatos (as the pumpkin) I drained them and pureed them in a food chopper. I have been looking for a sweet potato cookie and these worked out great. . Half of the batch I used milk chocolate chips in them. Also instead of shortening I used margarine. My picky son who doesn't eat sweet potatos just loved these, he thinks there a pumpkin cookie. This is a keeper. Thanks Michelle :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bever-li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Love, love, LOVE these cookies! I haven't made them myself, but my mother has made them several times and we can't get enough of them. They taste even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYFIRELYGHT
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States