Pumpkin Cookies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These cookies were awesome! My husband and son both loved them. I did make some substitutions based on other reviews and my own preferences. I used 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup of the splenda brown sugar mix to cut down on sugar. I increased or added ingredients, using 1 cup of oats, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp. baking powder, 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice, 1 tsp. cinnamon and a 15 oz. can of pumpkin. You'll need to cook these longer due to the increase in moisture from the pumpkin. I cooked them for 15-17 minutes. They will not turn out dense, but rather like a light cake consistancy. Good luck and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I needed about 1 cup of extra flour. Also, the cookies needed about 19 minutes in the oven. I am not sure if this is because I baked them on stoneware rather than metal pans. They were nice and chewy and had a great flavor, once i figured out the adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeqJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
These are really good, soft cookies! I followed the dough directions exactly then added cinnamon chips and chopped walnuts instead of raisins. I really liked that combo! Baked them for 12 min. (in a convection oven on insulated sheets).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These are fantastic! The only thing I changed was the raisins. I used chocolate chips instead. I also added a 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I'm giving this 2 stars only because they tasted delicious. The problem I had was that mine never rose. I even tested my baking soda after the fact to see if that was the problem, but it still had plenty of potency. Seems that there should be something acidic in the recipe to help the soda to react, but no one else mentioned this... I followed the recipe exactly so not sure why it didn't turn out. I also had a lot of trouble removing them from the pan so after the firt batch I gressed the pan with slightly better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I made this recipe almost exactly as written, except using pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon and mini chocolate chips in place of the raisins. At first, I was kind of disappointed. The cookies were difficult to remove from the cookie pans, even though I used silpat mats and let them cool. They were sticky and the texture wasn't great, although they tasted pretty good. Since I'd doubled the recipe, I had a lot of dough that I put into the fridge to bake later. Well, the next couple of trays of cookies turned out much better. The trick was to bake them quite a bit longer than the recipe stated. Instead of 10 minutes, I baked them for 14 or 15 minutes, until they turned a nice golden brown. Not only were the cookies much easier to handle, the texture was better. A bit crisp around the edge but chewy on the inside. Still not the best pumpkin cookie I've tried, but much better when baked properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
NOT cookies! As I was spooning onto a cookie sheet, I was thinking I should be pouring this cake batter into a cake or loaf pan. Quantities are way wrong on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These are really nice moist soft cookies. Nice and cinnamon-y, and just the right sweetness. I put in craisins, since I didn't have any regular raisins. It's delish! I should add that they should be cooked longer than stated on the recipe. I think I cooked them for an extra ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allieblank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These were excellent! I did not have quick cooking oats, so I used old fashioned rolled oats. I may try 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 butter the next time. My 2-year old loved them and kept asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
So good! I used about 3/4 cup of caramel chips instead of raisins and added about 1/4 tsp of ginger and nutmeg. I also added about 1/4 tsp more of cinnamon. I highly suggest this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States