Pumpkin Cookies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
WOW these were delicious! i used craisins instead of raisins and mmmm they were yummy! thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
These are delicious. I've made them twice. The second time was for my four-year-old son's "snack day" at his pre-school. The kids and teachers loved them! I used golden raisins so they would blend in because my kids say they don't like raisins. But they gobbled these cookies up. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNKENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Added extra oats, ginger, chocolate chips, and cooked for 16 minutes. The cookies still fell apart when I tried to pick them up. They don't taste that fantastic, either. When you have to alter the recipe so much in order to get something edible, you're not using the same recipe anymore. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I followed this recipe to the "T" and my cookies took too long to bake, and they came out more like cake than cookies. I would recommend this recipe for muffins or bread, but add more pumpkin to the mix. Although sort of bland my husband loved them, but then he loves sweets in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vannessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Great cookies, though I'll add more oats next time around. I put in a liberal amount of dried cranberries and chopped walnuts in lieu or the raisins. The cranberries were an excellent match for this cookie, and the walnuts gave it just the right amount of crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This is one of my all time favorite cookies. I JUST made these and I couldn't stop eating them. I do agree that they need to be cooked a bit longer, closer to 12 minutes. The only adjustments I made was to omit the raisins and adding 2 TBSP of ground flax seed. I LOVE the flavor flax provides not to mention the added protein and other benefits. I think next time, I will try to make a healthier version using more oats and applesauce instead of oil. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I believe it will become a family tradition in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I, like other reviewers, used applesauce instead of butter. I also added pumpkin pie spice along with the cinnamon to add something extra. The only thing I had to change was the cooking time. I had to keep them in the oven for at least 14 minutes. The two batches that were in for 12 minutes were more like muffin tops in texture which may be great if you want them like that. If you want a more cookie texture, add baking time. The recipe was very tasty despite the muffin consitency and made my house smell great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I doubled this recipe, since I make my cookies a little larger and prefer to make bigger batches (so they last longer than two days!). I substituted pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon and cinnamon chips for the raisins. Delicious - a perfect cookie for fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSCOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
will make these again but will add some more spices. I used applesauce instead of butter and also cooked on parchment paper. I had to peel them off but they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Following other reviewers, I used 1.5 cups of oatmeal, a full can of pumpkin, and oodles of spices (Nutmeg / Cinnamon / Ginger / All-Spice / Cloves, etc). The dough was HORRIBLY sticky and a bit loose, so I ended up adding more flour (about 3/4 cup more) and more oats (about a half cup) - still unbearably sticky. Due to the increased flour, they were pretty 'floury' - but still had a nice flavor. I bet they'd be WAY Better with the raisins...I had to top these with cream cheese frosting to help with presentation. Not the prettiest cookie I've seen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States