Pumpkin Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I recently made these pumpkin cookies for a cookie baking contest, and won! 1st place...a brand new, $300 KitchenAid mixer! These cookies don't look too flashy once you have them frosted, but boy do they taste good! They stay super mois and soft, almost like cake. They're not overly pumpkiny or spicy, and the icing is a nice compliment. I did flatten the tops of the dough down with the back of a wet spoon before baking. I also think these would be excellent with cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is a great recipe. My picky kids loved it, so I ill make this again. What I did was half the recipe since I only had one can of pumpkin. (I should have added an extra 1/2 cup of sugar to the mix since I halfed the recipe--I only used one cup). I added extra cinnamon, allspice and vanilla extract to the cookies and the icing and it came out great. But, the allspice makes a great difference in taste. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are to die for! The best!!! Cannot stay out of these, so I will only make them for a family get together where I have to share and send home with others! The cookies are such a nice texture and the icing is sooo delicious! Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morrice, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very good cookies. Makes a large batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBSAMUEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gravette, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Wonderful! This was a great recipe. My husband and children loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
very good - i had intended to bring some to some friends at school, but my boyfriend liked them so much he wanted them all to himself! however, the icing never hardened completely, and then got soft and ultimately runny after a few days, i'm not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made this recipe as listed, with the addition of a bit of allspice. I didn't like the cookies, though others who tried them seemed to enjoy them. Maybe they were just being nice? First, I had trouble getting these cookies baked enough to set. (Perhaps I should have used a teaspoon to drop the cookies and not a tablespoon.) The first two batches were still gooey when cooled. Increasing the baking time to 16 minutes at least made the cookie hold its shape, though I still had to be careful with them. The result looked nice, but the mouth-feel was overy oily and the taste was much too sweet. I won't make these again; they weren't worth the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricket

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Nice and light cookies, but next time I'll add more spices to give them a bit more flavour. Also, I used butter instead of shortening. I got about 5 doz. our of one batch - bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin baked goods, but I made these for a couple of parties. Boy, did they ever go fast. People loved them, and I got several requests for the recipe. I made them pretty much exactly as it says here, and then added a candied pecan to the top of each of the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and I have to say I was not impressed at all. It wasn't the worst cookie I've ever had but I definitely won't be making it again. I agree with some other reviews in that I really don't think this should be called a cookie. It's a tiny cake. I could also see it being better with more spices. I followed the recipe and it came out very, very bland. Also, I added about a cup more of the confectioners sugar to the icing and cooled it in the fridge with hopes it would thicken up a bit but the icing still came out very runny. With some alterations, this recipe could be good but I was really disappointed in the way these came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States