Pumpkin Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
These are the best cookies I've ever had! I just love em! I keep wanting to take some to my friends but can't keep em long enough to get past the door! - Sunnyfish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Fantastic soft cookie with icing that sets up perfectly. I flash froze the cookies once the icing was on them. I served some, sent some to my college son and froze the remainder. I was worried what the frosting would do when they thawed, but it remained nice and smooth. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
These turned out really nice and light! I cut the frosting recipe in half and had just enough to for all the cookies. This recipe, as is, really does make a ton of cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made these for Thanksgiving this year and they were very very good! Instead of icing, I just added a bag of white chocolate chips. However, as much as I liked those with chips, I also loved the couple of plain ones that I made at the end. I used a 2T scoop to measure out the cookies and next time I would use a smaller one. It made big domed cookies that were beautiful but it was tricky getting them done enough in the middle since they didn't really spread. For spice, I added 2 t cinnamon, 1/2 t nutmeg and 1/4 t cloves. That made a mildly spiced cookie. Next time I might add another t of cinnamon. (I'm sure ginger would be great, but I can't eat it.) Oh, almost forgot, I also used 1 1/2 sticks of butter and 1/2 c applesauce rather than shortening. Thanks for this wonderful recipe, Peggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times, and I only have one problem with the cookies - I can't stop eating them! The recipe calls for two cups of shortening, but the first two times I used half a cup, and last night I made it with half a cup of shortening and half a cup of butter. I can't see how they possibly need two cups - so if you're worried they won't be light and fluffy with less, don't worry about it! The icing is runny, but that's how it's supposed to be. Drizzle it over the cookies on a cooking rack with parchment or waxed paper underneath, it dries on to yummy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is a fall staple. I don't change a thing except make the icing a little thicker with a bit more powdered sugar. My family and customers love these and ask for them every year. Like others have mentioned, make sure you drop them "rounded" as they tend to retain the shape as they bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonifromtx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
These were ok. They weren't the flavor that I was expecting. I expected a strong pumpkin flavor, with a hint of spiciness. I did make one tiny change - I used rum extract instead of vanilla in the frosting. The frosting is the best part. :) Overall, I will probably make these again, the cookies are moist and they taste good, the flavor is just more subtle than I expected. I wouldn't say they are anything to write home about, but they aren't bad either. Also, I should've taken the advice of others who said to bake them 12 minutes instead of 10. They could definitely use the extra minute or two. (I had assumed that it was more of an oven variation thing than an actual necessity. Normally my oven burns things if they aren't being watched very very carefully. I almost always have to pull stuff out a minute or two early.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nisha303
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
These cookies are AWESOMEE and are now one of my top favorites!!! My siblings and I could not get enough. When I first started making them I was skeptical..I never used so much shortening before but I followed the recipe exactly as is and the end result was great. Definitely make the frosting before the cookies for it needs to cool or it will be runny and not look neat as in the picture. Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nisha303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Love these cookies. Very moist almost like eating mini pumpkin breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Very tasty!!! Although i waited till the cookies were cool before adding any frosting. Highly recommend!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States