Pumpkin Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made this recipe as listed, with the addition of a bit of allspice. I didn't like the cookies, though others who tried them seemed to enjoy them. Maybe they were just being nice? First, I had trouble getting these cookies baked enough to set. (Perhaps I should have used a teaspoon to drop the cookies and not a tablespoon.) The first two batches were still gooey when cooled. Increasing the baking time to 16 minutes at least made the cookie hold its shape, though I still had to be careful with them. The result looked nice, but the mouth-feel was overy oily and the taste was much too sweet. I won't make these again; they weren't worth the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricket

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Nice and light cookies, but next time I'll add more spices to give them a bit more flavour. Also, I used butter instead of shortening. I got about 5 doz. our of one batch - bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin baked goods, but I made these for a couple of parties. Boy, did they ever go fast. People loved them, and I got several requests for the recipe. I made them pretty much exactly as it says here, and then added a candied pecan to the top of each of the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and I have to say I was not impressed at all. It wasn't the worst cookie I've ever had but I definitely won't be making it again. I agree with some other reviews in that I really don't think this should be called a cookie. It's a tiny cake. I could also see it being better with more spices. I followed the recipe and it came out very, very bland. Also, I added about a cup more of the confectioners sugar to the icing and cooled it in the fridge with hopes it would thicken up a bit but the icing still came out very runny. With some alterations, this recipe could be good but I was really disappointed in the way these came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
my kiddos loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
these cookies literally MELT in your mouth. I tweeked them with extra cinn, ginger and nutmeg because I like my cookies a little spicier - -but the br sugar glaze was MMMMMM wonderful. They are by far the best in texture cookie I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Spectacular!! I could eat these all day!! Everyone loved them and I didnt even ice them. I really think they may have been to sweet with the icing anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Allred-Salmon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Yummy! I used butter instead of shortening & added pumpkin pie spice. These are so tender & delicious. I made them for 3 different events this holiday weekend and they were: GONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe. I had a 1 can of pure pumpkin leftover from Thanksgiving dinner and was able to use it for this recipe. I did substitute the shortening and used unsweetened applesauce. The cookie is very moist and cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teeags

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
i think i made these wrong...for some reason i think i didnt put enough flour in them. but then they tasted really flour-y!! i dont really know what happened. i would of ate them all though..except my dogs got ahold of them and ate them all!! i think i'll make them again though and see if they turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffinyRae
Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States