Pumpkin Coconut Milk Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Found it interesting, but not great. Much better with a little brown sugar added. I might try curry instead of chili powder. Husband didn't care for it but he's accustomed to squash soup which is a little sweeter and has fresh ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made this recipe with butternut squash I cooked in the oven instead of pumpkin purée.I also made it with vegetable stock.I didn't have orange juice so I didn't add it and it was still delicious!The blend of spices was a great mix for the squash.I definitely am going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I was disappointed in this bland soup, but after doubling spices & coconut milk, it was quite good. Use non fat coconut milk to prevent small curds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Rankin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
A lovely soup for fall, so simple and comforting. I recommend adding the coconut a little at a time and taste as you go, you may find that a full can of the stuff is just too much. If you don't have pumpkin pie spice use a mix of cinnamon, nutmeg, ground ginger, and ground cloves. This is a great option for when you want pumpkin but you don't want it for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I had to use lemon juice as I didn't have any orange juice. Very coconut tune
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
My husband and I liked it overall. Although, I did make it with some changes. I used lite coconut milk, because that was what I had on hand, 2 generous tsps of red curry powder instead of chili powder, cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves added to taste, lime juice instead of orange juice. It was lacking somewhat, so I added some brown sugar to taste (maybe 1/4 cup or so) and that made it taste a lot better. Not as healthy, but that slightly sweet and spicy really made it come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I just made this and it is easy and delish. I did not have orange juice but did have some true orange so used the equivalent and I thought it was a little bitter so at the end I added 2 TBS of brownulated sugar. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Quite bitter. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rowangrey
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe. It was easy enough, but the end product was vary, very bland. Since I hated to waste what was really a beautiful and well-textured soup, I started throwing the spice cabinet at it. It finally took curry powder to really make this soup sing. If you're going for looks, this recipe is hard to beat, but if you want flavor, try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I didn't have any boullion so I added more cinnamon, clove and nutmeg (in lieu of pumpkin spice) to add depth. For a side soup it's good. I used a large onion, finely chopped and pureed it with an emmersion blender when I added the water for a creamier texture. I used more water than called for to thin the soup out. As suggested, once I added salt and pepper I like it! Made about 3/4ths of a gallon. I'll be taking it with my lunch to work. I think the addition of a chicken or vegetable broth would have added lots of depth however I do like it. The spicy kick works for me! Oh I added a bit less of the chili powder for my taste. Thanks for sharing. I had some coconut milk and needed to do something with the frozen pureed pumpkin I'd made from my Halloween pumpkins. Utilized both at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States