Pumpkin Coconut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was a big hit at my work but I wasn't the most fond of it. It was a little to spicy for me and I usually will eat anything that has pumpkin in it, so a I am used to those flavors. I'm not sure why I wasn't thrilled with it. I did cook it in a shallow cake like pan and cut it into squares so people could eat it by the bite instead of the slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Charlotte1203
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Delicious! The only change I made was using 1/2 C oil and 1/2 C applesauce. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowellville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I'm surprised the "review numbers" on this one are not a lot higher. I had to use up some pumpkin puree, and since I had coconut too, I decided to try it. This is FANTASTIC!! I just used 4 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice (since I didn't have cloves or allspice) and I used 1 cup of walnuts. It does take the entire hour to cook, and I had to do an extra 5-10 minutes to make sure the middle of the loaves were done. This will become a regular for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Fabulous recipe!!! Smells absolutely heavenly while baking. I substituted apple sauce for the oil, and only used 2 eggs. I made half the batch in a mini-muffin tin, and the other half in a loaf pan. Excellent! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Oh man, I just made this loaf...wow! It is sooooo good. This is the kind of loaf you don't want to make too often because you end up eating the whole thing by yourself. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I didn't get a whole lot of coconut flavor from this - my own fault, my cocnut was a tad OLD & as a result dried out & not so potent. It was still very good, was a hit for the brunch to which I brought it. I am going to have to try it again with new coconut. PS used fresh pumpkin that I puree myself each fall. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Very nice! I used applesauce in place of the vegetable oil and cut down the number of egg yolks to one without compromising flavor, texture, consistency,etc. Very flavorful bread which presents beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
AWESOME!! This was a wonderful bread and I'm not even a huge fan of pumpkin! It was very moist and flavorful. I made them into "mini" breads and also made a decorative bunt cake out of it. They all came out wonderful and everyone loved them. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Made this twice, second time a double batch. Nothing but GOOD to say about this recipe. I leave out the clove and add a little extra of the other spices. Took out enough batter before adding the coconut to make one loaf and it was great, too. I don't even LIKE pumpkin, but I like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
My husband loved this. I made it one night planning to freeze one of the loaves, but by the time they cooled my husband had already finished the first one and half of the second. Great recipe, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Foreman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States