Pumpkin Coconut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I made this pumpkin bread and the only thing I changed was the white flour to whole wheat flour. It was very moist and delicious. I gave one to my mother who shared it with some other relatives and now they all want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Wonderful! I bake with flaxseed rather than oil (3:1), but loved the flavors and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This bread is delish! Very moist and spicy. The coconut adds a surprising texture and flavor. I can't make anything by following the recipe exactly, so I made the following changes: decreased the white sugar to 1 1/2 cups (will probably try 1 cup next time), substituted 1 cup applesauce for the oil, increased the cinnamon to 2 tsp, and sprinkled cinnamon/sugar combination on top before it baked. It took quite a bit longer to bake than the recipe said (about 1:15 or 1:20--I lost track). It's delicious after it cools, but even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was a big hit at my work but I wasn't the most fond of it. It was a little to spicy for me and I usually will eat anything that has pumpkin in it, so a I am used to those flavors. I'm not sure why I wasn't thrilled with it. I did cook it in a shallow cake like pan and cut it into squares so people could eat it by the bite instead of the slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Charlotte1203
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Delicious! The only change I made was using 1/2 C oil and 1/2 C applesauce. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowellville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I'm surprised the "review numbers" on this one are not a lot higher. I had to use up some pumpkin puree, and since I had coconut too, I decided to try it. This is FANTASTIC!! I just used 4 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice (since I didn't have cloves or allspice) and I used 1 cup of walnuts. It does take the entire hour to cook, and I had to do an extra 5-10 minutes to make sure the middle of the loaves were done. This will become a regular for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Fabulous recipe!!! Smells absolutely heavenly while baking. I substituted apple sauce for the oil, and only used 2 eggs. I made half the batch in a mini-muffin tin, and the other half in a loaf pan. Excellent! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Oh man, I just made this loaf...wow! It is sooooo good. This is the kind of loaf you don't want to make too often because you end up eating the whole thing by yourself. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I didn't get a whole lot of coconut flavor from this - my own fault, my cocnut was a tad OLD & as a result dried out & not so potent. It was still very good, was a hit for the brunch to which I brought it. I am going to have to try it again with new coconut. PS used fresh pumpkin that I puree myself each fall. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Very nice! I used applesauce in place of the vegetable oil and cut down the number of egg yolks to one without compromising flavor, texture, consistency,etc. Very flavorful bread which presents beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States