Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This is a wonderful cake recipe. Moist, somewhat dense, just the way I like it - not too dry or light. Anyway, I had no applesauce so used sour cream. It turned out fabulous and everyone has LOVED it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica from Calgary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
YUMMY! This is a wonderfully moist, rich cake.... mmm-mmm! I used evaporated milk as a cheap substitute for the heavy cream, and margarine for butter - it turned out wonderful and got rave reviews! I would recommend sifting your icing sugar before adding it to the recipe for the icing, as you will get lumpy icing otherwise. Thanks for a great recipe, Sara - I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This recipe was a wonderful twist on the traditional pumpkin pie at our thanksgiving dinner. It was a great hit, although I had no icing sugar and simply drizzled a brown sugar cream sauce on the top, which was just as rich and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This recipe was relatively easy and caused rave reviews when served at my pumpkin carving party; it is rich and chocolatey with just the right amount of pumpkin pie flavor for the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
This was good, dense almost like a torte. It's not as rich as I expected, more of a mild chocolate flavor. I would recommend sifting the powdered sugar before adding it to the frosting, it was lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marionfive

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
My 5 year old daughter and I made cupcakes from this recipe last night. I accidently left them on the baking rack last night and they are PERFECT this morning. Not dry at all. I did NOT use the pumpkin pie spice and they do NOT taste like pumpkin at all. Just chocolate cupcakes. Thank so much. We love these! (I also substituted a tiny (5oz) can of evaporated milk for the heavy cream. I used a 4oz kids sized applesauce pack and 1/2c butter because it's what I had.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This is wonderful! Next time I might just make half the frosting because there was so much. Although eating it out of the pan with a spoon was nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This the best cake I have ever had. It was so good I had to make it twice in one week for my family. Just outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I have made this recipe FIVE times since I first saw it two months ago! My family doesn't even like chocolate, but they gobbled this up. My son even requested it for his birthday cake! I live overseas in a country that doesn't have premade pumpkin puree or applesauce, so I made them myself (thanks, phatcat, for the Sarah's applesauce recipe!). It does take my cake at least an hour to cook, but it's still moist, and I like for my frosting to cool a bit and become more solid than a glase. The last time I made the frosting I even added some caramels to make it even sweeter. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURA PERRY
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I'm eating this cake as I write this review. Yum! It's so good, moist, and the frosting is delicious!! I will make this recipe many times I'm sure. I will try chocolate chips next time for a new touch and when making the frosting make sure you move your hot syrup mixture away from the heat and sift your powdered sugar before wisking it in if you don't want any lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States