Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
It was OK. Very moist but the cake needed to be sweeter. Also, better make sure the cake is completely cooled before frosting. Mine all dripped to the sides. I also had to bake it longer than stated. I will keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was pretty good. Kind of a strange taste, but lots of people enjoyed it. I used 2/3 c wheat flour in place of white and used Smart Balance in the icing because I ran out of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I did not like this at all! No taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Tew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
A great cake. I made it richer by adding a package of chocolate chips and it turned out great. It didn't need the frosting with this sweet addition either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This cake was very moist and presented well. The frosting was very tasty, although I had some trouble with clumps of sugar. However, the flavor cake was sort of bland. The pumpkin flavor wasn't very pronounced, and it tasted like a subtly different chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Overall pretty good. I enjoyed the flavor combo, but I don't know that it will work for everyone. The glaze is excellent, though. Those who say it is gritty might want to try heating it longer and stiring until you're certain the brown sugar has dissolved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
this cake was really good, we loved it and I was skeptical at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fwickafwee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oldsmar, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I made this recipe for my husband and he absolutely loved it! He said that this was the best cake ever! It is so moist and has a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
made moist mini-bundts, but they had no flavor at all. even added an extra 1/4 cup cocoa. still nothing. maybe will try again with choc. chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I did indeed weep and exult at this cake, an outstanding combination of seasonal flavors. Because I was using fresh pumpkin, I pureed it for smoothness, but didn't think to do that 'til I already had it mixed with the cream and eggs. That may have made my version a little fluffier than the original, and turned out impressively taller than the average Bundt cake. The cake was a hit with colleagues at an early Thanksgiving dinner, and the babysitters enjoyed cleaning the frosting pan at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States