Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was just ok. The spice in the cake definitely threw me off. If I made again, I'd use the pumpkin for moistness, but omit the pumpkin pie spice. The caramel frosting was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very moist and yummy. Be sure to cook the caramel long enough so that it thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Awesome!-but you could 1/2 the icing- it's way too much. I also poked holes in the cake to let it soak into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Came out great and smelled terrific. Seemed a little dry, but with ice cream it was great. The chocolate lovers in the group thought it was wonderful and tasted a little like gingerbread. I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This cake is delicious. Very moist. I love the flavor combination of pumpkin and chocolate. The added flavor of the icing makes those flavors especially good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
To make this a bit healthier, I used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream. The cake is fantastic! It's moist and holds up well over a few days. I didn't make the caramel frosting, but made a vanilla drizzle. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was AWESOME! I made it for Thanksgiving this year and everyone LOVED it. Got many comments on the good texture and moistness. The flavor was wonderful - I would have never thought to mix pumpkin and chocolate. I will probably make this recipe for many Thanksgivings to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This cake was absolute delicious! I made it for thanksgiving and it was gone right away! My family begged me the next day to make some more and again they loved it so much! (it is also my first time ever to bake a cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandaluyong City, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this cake for Thanksgiving dinner, and it was a huge hit! I made it just as suggested, and it was easy. The only thing I will do differently next time is to sift the confectioners sugar for the icing....it was a little lumpy, still wonderful, but it looked a little funny! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I added half a bag of semisweet chips. I think next time I will add the whole bag and more of the pumpkin pie spice. I too had problems with the icing - it turned out very grainy. Still, the guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States