Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Very moist & delicious. I did not sift the confectioners sugar. Just whisk it and the clumps go away. I had to bake my cake about 10 min longer than the suggested time. I'm also at a high elevation & didn't modify anything. Great recipe & everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
very heavy, dense cake. thought it had great flavor. had to cook it 20 minutes more than recipe stated. the frosting turned out fine for me - no lumps even though i didnt sift the powdered sugar. but, the frosting was thin so when i poured it over the cake it essentially just ran off the cake onto the pan. next time i will halve the frosting and maybe wait a bit before pouring it on the cake in hopes that it'll thicken a bit and stay on the cake (definitely didnt look like the frosting in the recipe picture). i think this would be great with the cinnamon ice cream recipe from this site! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This cake was fantastic. Moist and delicious. The icing is great, but next time I would make a half recipe of the icing as there was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Cooking time wasn't long enough, and i think i may have baked it too long. still was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghost33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I brought this to our Thanksgiving gathering and everyone seemed to like it. As others suggested, I used evaporated milk in place of heavy cream. My husband thought it was good but didn't think it qualified for a five star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was fabulous. I substituted sour cream for the applesauce and added chocolate chips and it was so moist. I wish the pumpkin flavor was a little stronger, but really, this was just a good, dense chocolate cake. I had to bake it for work, and wow were people impressed! It looks great and it's not hard to make at all. Don't skimp on the icing, either; it's delicious and it helps keep the cake moist. I will definitely save this guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Yuck. I thought chocolate and pumpkin would go well together, but I was wrong. I think it's just a matter of different tastes, but I did not like this at all, nor did my husband, or our boys. This recipe tastes as if it's really missing something; maybe adding some chocolate chips to the batter as some had suggested would've done the trick. But I'm not wasting any more ingredients to find out.... At least the icing was a hit.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PandaSandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made this for a cake walk fundraiser and was not very impressed with the results. The cake took about 15 minutes extra to cook (like other reviewers stated) and when I cut a small part of the bottom to taste it didn't taste very sweet, very mild tasting cake. The frosting was difficult to make for me. I think maybe it needed to cook longer? I cooked as the directions stated, until the brown sugar dissolved and then whisked in the powdered sugar but it was VERY runny and ended up a little grainy. It also cooked a lot more than was needed. It tasted and smelled good, but the texture was just too grainy to get over for me. I might try this again for my husband and I because the recipe SOUNDS so good, but my expectations are pretty low for the second attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
A very good cake. I substituted buttermilk in place of the cream in the cake. I ended up having to cook the cake for 55 minutes, because it just didn't seem done. Both the pumpkin and the pumpkin spice was noticeable in the taste of the cake. This is a good recipe for Halloween, and different from anything else that I have ever had. I'm sure I'll make it again. My family loves the caramel icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This cake was just ok for me. The glaze hard a ell off you cut it and the flavor of the cake was litle to rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Duckett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States