Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This Cake I amazing. My kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musick_clan4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wickenburg, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This cake was just ok. The cake itself is not overly sweet, which is nice, but it's more of a chocolate cake than a pumpkin cake. The pumpkin flavor is overpowered by the chocolate. I had to bake it for 65 minutes instead of 40. After cooling it came out of the pan smoothly. I did not, however, like the icing. Maybe I made it wrong, but the icing just absorbed into the cake, not laying on top and slowly drizzling down nicely like in the picture. Perhaps this could be remedied by letting it cool a little before drizzling it on. The recipe said to do it immediately though. I was going to make this for a Thanksgiving potluck for my husband's office, but I'm going to make pumpkin curry soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
So delicious and moist! A fantastic fall cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
it was an easy cake to make, however with the sauce you should wait a minute or two before drizzling it over the cake because it won't stick. You will find all the sauce stuck to the bottom of your serving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAX8144

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I made this for my book club friends and they all loved it!! I baked it @ 375 by mistake for 30 minutes and then, 15 more minutes @ 345. I did add 1/2 bag of milk chocolate chips per another reviewers suggestion and I let the frosting sit for a few minutes before drizzling over the cake. Very good and it looked wonderful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Huntertown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barrie Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This cake is amazing, my boyfriend has requested that it become a thanksgiving tradition from now on. Dense, moist and just the right balance of spicy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Awesome cake, I don't even care much for chocolate. I did add 1/8 cup of cream because the batter seemed a little dry during mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I baked this as cupcakes on a convection setting and didn't have any problems with needing more baking time. I did cut back a little on the sugar and replace part of the butter with olive oil. They turned out well and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreCoffeePlease

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This cake is delicious with a very good texture. Definitely needed 15 extra minutes in the oven. The frosting needs to be cooked longer than you would think and maybe not to drizzle immediately. I'm going to make it again maybe sprinkle some nutmeg on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very moist. I couldn't tell that it had pumpkin after the second bite. However, my fiance said he could taste the pumpkin pretty well. I had this with cream cheese frosting instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States