Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Had this cake at my aunt's last night, it was sooooo good, I!can't wait to make it! Not your typical chocolate cake, but definitely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Great moist and chocolatey recipe. I didn't taste much of the pumkin though. I will defintiely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINZESSINTF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is very moist and flavorful (not as chocolate-y as I expected), and the guests were all impressed. Personally I thought it needed salt. I'm not usually one to add salt to everything (in fact, I halve it in most recipes), but a little bit of salt would have improved this cake. Also, the bake time was about 15 minutes longer for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Fabulous. They were eaten in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by des114

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Love this cake! I did make a couple of changes (just b/c I wanted to experiment). Instead of pumpkin, I used sweet potato and left out the pumpkin pie spice (didn't want to use it). I also subbed cola for the cream in the cake b/c I love coke cakes. I did have to bake it 25 extra minutes, but it may have been b/c of my substitutions. Such a wonderfully moist cake! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonnata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Amazing! So moist and delicious. As written, the recipe made 24 regular sized cupcakes. Instead of the glaze listed here I made a pumpkin cream cheese frosting that complemented it very well - but the cake is so moist and flavorful itself that it barely needed the frosting. Everyone loved them and I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlee
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I would have liked to taste more pumpkin flavor as well as the spices. I think the chocolate overpowers this recipe. The frosting is very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
SO DELICIOUS! This was one of my first baking ventures, and it turned out wonderfully. It's very easy to make, and the cake is rich and moist. The glaze creates the perfect combo, and I suggest waiting for it to thicken (off of the heat) for a few minutes before topping on the cooled cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was very very moist and yummy. A friend commented that they were leery of the pumpkin/chocolate combo, but were pleasantly surprised. Frosting was just enough, too, and wasn't over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Cake was deliciously moist and easy to make. Will be my new holiday go-to cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States