Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I made this for my bunco club and it was a hit. Made it in a bundt pan. The glaze is fabulous. I stirred it up and cool it down some to make it thicker before frosting. I also didn't have applesauce, so I used oil instead. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS13JOSEPH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Took to Donna's for dinner group and everyone loved it. Nice and dense and caramel topping is awesome. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This cake is AMAZING!! It is SOOOO moist and flavorful, it adds a whole new meaning to "comfort" food! I followed the recipe exactly, except for I added an extra teaspoon of the pumpkin pie spice (cause I love pumpkin flavor!) and the cake itself was PERFECT!! The glaze was ok but I personally don't think the cake needed it. Next time I'll just dust the top with powdered sugar when I serve it up. I'll most definitely be making this delicious cake again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babytmedley
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I had such high hopes! I made and brought to someone's house. Mortified because no one cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Had this cake at my aunt's last night, it was sooooo good, I!can't wait to make it! Not your typical chocolate cake, but definitely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Great moist and chocolatey recipe. I didn't taste much of the pumkin though. I will defintiely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINZESSINTF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is very moist and flavorful (not as chocolate-y as I expected), and the guests were all impressed. Personally I thought it needed salt. I'm not usually one to add salt to everything (in fact, I halve it in most recipes), but a little bit of salt would have improved this cake. Also, the bake time was about 15 minutes longer for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Fabulous. They were eaten in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by des114

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Love this cake! I did make a couple of changes (just b/c I wanted to experiment). Instead of pumpkin, I used sweet potato and left out the pumpkin pie spice (didn't want to use it). I also subbed cola for the cream in the cake b/c I love coke cakes. I did have to bake it 25 extra minutes, but it may have been b/c of my substitutions. Such a wonderfully moist cake! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonnata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Amazing! So moist and delicious. As written, the recipe made 24 regular sized cupcakes. Instead of the glaze listed here I made a pumpkin cream cheese frosting that complemented it very well - but the cake is so moist and flavorful itself that it barely needed the frosting. Everyone loved them and I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States