Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Stephanie_Miami
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Great recipe. I substituted half whole wheat flour, coconut oil for butter and yogurt for cream. Also just used brown sugar. Still tasted super yummy and moist. I also made a spiced chocolate ganache for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Omigoodness, I made this cake for grandma's dinner nite tonight. My grandkids are pretty picky I am believing this cake will be a huge hit. I couldn't wait for dessert to try it. This is the smoothest, yummiest chocolate scratch cake I have ever baked. I made this exactly as the recipe state except, no cream I used buttermilk, for cream in glaze I use regular flavor coffeemate creamer... omi.. so so good. beware, the glaze is to die for, if you are even a remotely addicted to caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This cake is delicious and very easy to make, although it doesn't look easy. I've never made a bunt cake before, and I was kind of nervous, but this turned about perfect and was not that difficult to prepare. Super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I was really disappointed by this recipe. I bake often, and I was really looking forward to this one, given all of the good reviews. The cake was bland, it definitely needs some salt. It was also on the dry side - surprising, because many people raved about how moist it was. The frosting looked beautiful, but hardened up and didn't taste all that good. I brought this one to a dinner party, and most people (myself included!) only took a few bites and left the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very good!! And very simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Quite dense and tasty. Did not have the problem of runny icing--quite the opposite. As soon as I added the confectioner's sugar, it began to harden almost immediately, so it sort of clumped on top rather than running down the sides, even though I was working quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I made this for my bunco club and it was a hit. Made it in a bundt pan. The glaze is fabulous. I stirred it up and cool it down some to make it thicker before frosting. I also didn't have applesauce, so I used oil instead. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS13JOSEPH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Took to Donna's for dinner group and everyone loved it. Nice and dense and caramel topping is awesome. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This cake is AMAZING!! It is SOOOO moist and flavorful, it adds a whole new meaning to "comfort" food! I followed the recipe exactly, except for I added an extra teaspoon of the pumpkin pie spice (cause I love pumpkin flavor!) and the cake itself was PERFECT!! The glaze was ok but I personally don't think the cake needed it. Next time I'll just dust the top with powdered sugar when I serve it up. I'll most definitely be making this delicious cake again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babytmedley
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I had such high hopes! I made and brought to someone's house. Mortified because no one cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States