Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I followed the recipe to T, Unfortunately, we didn't like to way it tasted. The texture was too dense, the cooking time mentioned was off, I needed to bake mine at least 20 minutes more and keep inseting the tooth pick. I wouln't make it again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
An odd combination of flavors I felt. The frosting is really sweet and the cake doesnt seem to be sweet enough, as odd as that sounds. It just didnt mesh well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andi
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This cake turned out very moist and rich, and it looked beautiful on the plate. Unfortunately, we didn't love the way it tasted. It was too spicey for me and my family, or maybe it was simply the pumpkin-chocolate combination. We shared it with our neighbor and she really liked it. So, if you think you'll like the spicey pumpkin and chocolate combination, go for it - you'll love how moist and flavorful this cake is. If, on the other hand, the combination doesn't sound good, you're probably right. Try something less risky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
The cake was ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL !!! Dense,moist and the taste is wonderful..Thank You, Thank You!! Oh and did I say sooo easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This cake is super yummy. Next time around I will add just a little more pumpkin pie spice. The frosting is super yummy and helps to sweeten the cake! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Harmony'sMommy
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Great recipe made even better by suggestions found in earlier reviews, made a few changes subsituted half wheat flour and half brown sugar. Used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream. Didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so found the substitution for it and added maybe a 1/2 Tbsp more cinnamon and ginger and tsp more nutmeg and allspice. ( really wanted to taste the pumpkin spices) Also added chocolate chips as mentioned in other reveiws, sprinkled some on top of cake as well. Loved it very moist, cake and the icing was extremely sweet but perfect for spicy chocolate cake. Looked fabulous too served this at a dinner party and it was ooohed and ahhed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmony'sMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I thought this recipe was a little dry. The overall taste is good but I prefer a moister cake. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Excellent cake! This was a wonderful change of pace from the traditional chocolate cakes, and a great treat for fall. Next time I'll be adding some chocolate chips to give it a little extra chocolatey boost, but it was fabulous straight from the recipe. Serve warm with some vanilla icecream, Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I don't usually like chocolate cake that much but this is an exception! I needed to use up some extra pureed pumpkin and I found this recipe. I followed the directions exactly but added 1 tsp of vanilla to the cake mix. For the icing, it was a bit grainy but still good. Tasted just like caramel. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
my first baking experience...and the women of the family agreed that i had earned my first bundt pan! not hard to do, but looks impressive and tastes great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States