Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Wow! An amazing switch-up on chocolate cake. My family, especially grandchildren, devoured the cake over a few days. I used extra dark powdered cocoa and added an additional 1/3 cup and baked cake in a bundt pan adding an additional 25 minutes to total baking time. The cake was very moist and melted in your mouth. I served unfrosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This cake is excellent! I've made it twice now, following the recipe exactly and both times I had to cook it for 20 minutes longer than the time listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cranwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Amazing and so moist, looking forward to bringing it for the next get together I go to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie_Miami
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Great recipe. I substituted half whole wheat flour, coconut oil for butter and yogurt for cream. Also just used brown sugar. Still tasted super yummy and moist. I also made a spiced chocolate ganache for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Omigoodness, I made this cake for grandma's dinner nite tonight. My grandkids are pretty picky I am believing this cake will be a huge hit. I couldn't wait for dessert to try it. This is the smoothest, yummiest chocolate scratch cake I have ever baked. I made this exactly as the recipe state except, no cream I used buttermilk, for cream in glaze I use regular flavor coffeemate creamer... omi.. so so good. beware, the glaze is to die for, if you are even a remotely addicted to caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This cake is delicious and very easy to make, although it doesn't look easy. I've never made a bunt cake before, and I was kind of nervous, but this turned about perfect and was not that difficult to prepare. Super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I was really disappointed by this recipe. I bake often, and I was really looking forward to this one, given all of the good reviews. The cake was bland, it definitely needs some salt. It was also on the dry side - surprising, because many people raved about how moist it was. The frosting looked beautiful, but hardened up and didn't taste all that good. I brought this one to a dinner party, and most people (myself included!) only took a few bites and left the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very good!! And very simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States