Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I have made this recipe FIVE times since I first saw it two months ago! My family doesn't even like chocolate, but they gobbled this up. My son even requested it for his birthday cake! I live overseas in a country that doesn't have premade pumpkin puree or applesauce, so I made them myself (thanks, phatcat, for the Sarah's applesauce recipe!). It does take my cake at least an hour to cook, but it's still moist, and I like for my frosting to cool a bit and become more solid than a glase. The last time I made the frosting I even added some caramels to make it even sweeter. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This is wonderful! Next time I might just make half the frosting because there was so much. Although eating it out of the pan with a spoon was nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURA PERRY
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I'm eating this cake as I write this review. Yum! It's so good, moist, and the frosting is delicious!! I will make this recipe many times I'm sure. I will try chocolate chips next time for a new touch and when making the frosting make sure you move your hot syrup mixture away from the heat and sift your powdered sugar before wisking it in if you don't want any lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
My 5 year old daughter and I made cupcakes from this recipe last night. I accidently left them on the baking rack last night and they are PERFECT this morning. Not dry at all. I did NOT use the pumpkin pie spice and they do NOT taste like pumpkin at all. Just chocolate cupcakes. Thank so much. We love these! (I also substituted a tiny (5oz) can of evaporated milk for the heavy cream. I used a 4oz kids sized applesauce pack and 1/2c butter because it's what I had.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This the best cake I have ever had. It was so good I had to make it twice in one week for my family. Just outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This cake was certainly different than any other chocolate cakes I've made. It really was quite moist, and the frosting complimented it nicely. I had to bake it for 15 minutes longer than the recipe suggested, but after that it was perfectly done. I also realized I didn't have any cream halfway through making it, but my substitution of milk for both the cake and the frosting seemed to work just fine. If you don't have any pumpkin pie spice, there are a few recipes on this site that give you enough to make this cake. I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This cake is so moist and absolutely delicious. Loved the pumpkin pie spice flavor with the chocolate. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Outstanding cake! I'm not a baker, but this came out so good! However, the next time I make it, I'll make half of the icing. First time I made it I had icing all over the plate. (Told you I'm not a baker!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
OH...MY...GOODNESS!!! This cake is incredibly moist and delicious! I served it instead of pumpkin pie for Turkey Day and the family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
my first baking experience...and the women of the family agreed that i had earned my first bundt pan! not hard to do, but looks impressive and tastes great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States