Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
YUMMY! This is a wonderfully moist, rich cake.... mmm-mmm! I used evaporated milk as a cheap substitute for the heavy cream, and margarine for butter - it turned out wonderful and got rave reviews! I would recommend sifting your icing sugar before adding it to the recipe for the icing, as you will get lumpy icing otherwise. Thanks for a great recipe, Sara - I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
My 5 year old daughter and I made cupcakes from this recipe last night. I accidently left them on the baking rack last night and they are PERFECT this morning. Not dry at all. I did NOT use the pumpkin pie spice and they do NOT taste like pumpkin at all. Just chocolate cupcakes. Thank so much. We love these! (I also substituted a tiny (5oz) can of evaporated milk for the heavy cream. I used a 4oz kids sized applesauce pack and 1/2c butter because it's what I had.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Harmony'sMommy
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Great recipe made even better by suggestions found in earlier reviews, made a few changes subsituted half wheat flour and half brown sugar. Used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream. Didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so found the substitution for it and added maybe a 1/2 Tbsp more cinnamon and ginger and tsp more nutmeg and allspice. ( really wanted to taste the pumpkin spices) Also added chocolate chips as mentioned in other reveiws, sprinkled some on top of cake as well. Loved it very moist, cake and the icing was extremely sweet but perfect for spicy chocolate cake. Looked fabulous too served this at a dinner party and it was ooohed and ahhed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmony'sMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
This was good, dense almost like a torte. It's not as rich as I expected, more of a mild chocolate flavor. I would recommend sifting the powdered sugar before adding it to the frosting, it was lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marionfive

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I have made this recipe FIVE times since I first saw it two months ago! My family doesn't even like chocolate, but they gobbled this up. My son even requested it for his birthday cake! I live overseas in a country that doesn't have premade pumpkin puree or applesauce, so I made them myself (thanks, phatcat, for the Sarah's applesauce recipe!). It does take my cake at least an hour to cook, but it's still moist, and I like for my frosting to cool a bit and become more solid than a glase. The last time I made the frosting I even added some caramels to make it even sweeter. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This is a wonderful cake recipe. Moist, somewhat dense, just the way I like it - not too dry or light. Anyway, I had no applesauce so used sour cream. It turned out fabulous and everyone has LOVED it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica from Calgary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURA PERRY
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I'm eating this cake as I write this review. Yum! It's so good, moist, and the frosting is delicious!! I will make this recipe many times I'm sure. I will try chocolate chips next time for a new touch and when making the frosting make sure you move your hot syrup mixture away from the heat and sift your powdered sugar before wisking it in if you don't want any lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This cake was certainly different than any other chocolate cakes I've made. It really was quite moist, and the frosting complimented it nicely. I had to bake it for 15 minutes longer than the recipe suggested, but after that it was perfectly done. I also realized I didn't have any cream halfway through making it, but my substitution of milk for both the cake and the frosting seemed to work just fine. If you don't have any pumpkin pie spice, there are a few recipes on this site that give you enough to make this cake. I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I don't usually like chocolate cake that much but this is an exception! I needed to use up some extra pureed pumpkin and I found this recipe. I followed the directions exactly but added 1 tsp of vanilla to the cake mix. For the icing, it was a bit grainy but still good. Tasted just like caramel. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This recipe was relatively easy and caused rave reviews when served at my pumpkin carving party; it is rich and chocolatey with just the right amount of pumpkin pie flavor for the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States