Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Came out great and smelled terrific. Seemed a little dry, but with ice cream it was great. The chocolate lovers in the group thought it was wonderful and tasted a little like gingerbread. I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This cake is delicious. Very moist. I love the flavor combination of pumpkin and chocolate. The added flavor of the icing makes those flavors especially good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
To make this a bit healthier, I used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream. The cake is fantastic! It's moist and holds up well over a few days. I didn't make the caramel frosting, but made a vanilla drizzle. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was AWESOME! I made it for Thanksgiving this year and everyone LOVED it. Got many comments on the good texture and moistness. The flavor was wonderful - I would have never thought to mix pumpkin and chocolate. I will probably make this recipe for many Thanksgivings to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This cake was absolute delicious! I made it for thanksgiving and it was gone right away! My family begged me the next day to make some more and again they loved it so much! (it is also my first time ever to bake a cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandaluyong City, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this cake for Thanksgiving dinner, and it was a huge hit! I made it just as suggested, and it was easy. The only thing I will do differently next time is to sift the confectioners sugar for the icing....it was a little lumpy, still wonderful, but it looked a little funny! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I added half a bag of semisweet chips. I think next time I will add the whole bag and more of the pumpkin pie spice. I too had problems with the icing - it turned out very grainy. Still, the guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this recipe last Thanksgiving and I will probably make it again this Thanksgiving. It was so good! Not something you want to eat if your on a diet, but oh so good! After trying another similar recipe, I will definitely be going back to this one and staying with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This cake is a winner! The cake is moist and dense, and the glaze has that perfect texture to bite into then melts in your mouth! I personally am not a fan of pumpkin pie spice, so I cut it from 1-1/2T to 1t, and it gave the cake great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krismrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This was so moist, and delicious!! I cant wait to share it with my friends and family. I prepared it as written and it was very easy and baked up beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitfreak18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States