Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
What a great recipe.I would suggest making 1/2 the frosting. I didn't have any cream so in a pinch I grabbed my french vanilla fat free creamer (for my coffee) and it still turned out delicious. I also used whole wheat flour, egg whites, and 1/2 cup of cane sugar with 1/2 cup of sugar substitute. My family and friends all enjoyed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This is the best!!! Only used 1/2 the frosting recipe. I also used evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Delicious! I didn't make the frosting which made me think maybe I should bcos the taste slightly bland. Maybe better add 1/4c sugar? I'm sure no additional needed with frosting. I did't have the applesauce, I should've substitute with oil to keep the same moistness. And use milk instead of heavy cream. It's very nice when it's just came out of the fridge. Denser, which I like so much. Next time I would add more cocoa. Hmm..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Wow! This was really yummy! I added chocolate chips as suggested by some reviewers and it turned out very good! Really rich though so a small slice is enough. I didn't have a bundt pan so I used 2 pie tins...kept them separate instead of making a layered cake. It turned out really well and most importantly the kids loved it! 8D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I used some of the modifications to fit what we had, sour cream instead of apple sauce and evaporated milk in stead of heavy cream. I also omitted the pumpkin pie spice this time for a more chocolate flavor. As usual I added 1 cup whole wheat and 2/3 cup wheat germ with 1 cup white four and a couple TBSP of ground flax. The glaze is very praline like and delicious, would also be good with chopped nuts. The cake is very moist and rich. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Utah, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was just ok. The spice in the cake definitely threw me off. If I made again, I'd use the pumpkin for moistness, but omit the pumpkin pie spice. The caramel frosting was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very moist and yummy. Be sure to cook the caramel long enough so that it thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Awesome!-but you could 1/2 the icing- it's way too much. I also poked holes in the cake to let it soak into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Came out great and smelled terrific. Seemed a little dry, but with ice cream it was great. The chocolate lovers in the group thought it was wonderful and tasted a little like gingerbread. I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This cake is delicious. Very moist. I love the flavor combination of pumpkin and chocolate. The added flavor of the icing makes those flavors especially good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States