Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Harmony'sMommy
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Great recipe made even better by suggestions found in earlier reviews, made a few changes subsituted half wheat flour and half brown sugar. Used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream. Didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so found the substitution for it and added maybe a 1/2 Tbsp more cinnamon and ginger and tsp more nutmeg and allspice. ( really wanted to taste the pumpkin spices) Also added chocolate chips as mentioned in other reveiws, sprinkled some on top of cake as well. Loved it very moist, cake and the icing was extremely sweet but perfect for spicy chocolate cake. Looked fabulous too served this at a dinner party and it was ooohed and ahhed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmony'sMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I thought this recipe was a little dry. The overall taste is good but I prefer a moister cake. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Excellent cake! This was a wonderful change of pace from the traditional chocolate cakes, and a great treat for fall. Next time I'll be adding some chocolate chips to give it a little extra chocolatey boost, but it was fabulous straight from the recipe. Serve warm with some vanilla icecream, Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I don't usually like chocolate cake that much but this is an exception! I needed to use up some extra pureed pumpkin and I found this recipe. I followed the directions exactly but added 1 tsp of vanilla to the cake mix. For the icing, it was a bit grainy but still good. Tasted just like caramel. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
my first baking experience...and the women of the family agreed that i had earned my first bundt pan! not hard to do, but looks impressive and tastes great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
OH...MY...GOODNESS!!! This cake is incredibly moist and delicious! I served it instead of pumpkin pie for Turkey Day and the family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Outstanding cake! I'm not a baker, but this came out so good! However, the next time I make it, I'll make half of the icing. First time I made it I had icing all over the plate. (Told you I'm not a baker!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This cake is so moist and absolutely delicious. Loved the pumpkin pie spice flavor with the chocolate. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This cake was certainly different than any other chocolate cakes I've made. It really was quite moist, and the frosting complimented it nicely. I had to bake it for 15 minutes longer than the recipe suggested, but after that it was perfectly done. I also realized I didn't have any cream halfway through making it, but my substitution of milk for both the cake and the frosting seemed to work just fine. If you don't have any pumpkin pie spice, there are a few recipes on this site that give you enough to make this cake. I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURA PERRY
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I'm eating this cake as I write this review. Yum! It's so good, moist, and the frosting is delicious!! I will make this recipe many times I'm sure. I will try chocolate chips next time for a new touch and when making the frosting make sure you move your hot syrup mixture away from the heat and sift your powdered sugar before wisking it in if you don't want any lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States