Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I also thought muffins came out rather bland so I made a few alterations. I would recommend substituting the white sugar with packed light brown sugar; increasing the spices to 1 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 tsp ground ginger, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg (I did not have any pumpkin spice or ground cloves); and increasing the pumpkin puree to 1 cup. These changes produced more flavorful muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1050 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I made these and they were a big hit!! The people at the party I took them to claimed I had put an addictive substance in them :-) I used packed dark brown sugar instead of white, I used 1 cup of pumpkin instead of 3/4 cup, and I doubled the cinnamon and nutmeg. I also made them into mini muffins, so I used mini chocolate chips. cooking the minis for 15 minutes worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
577 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was a great recipe although me and some of my taste testers thought there was too much chocolate chip. I think I will try mini chocolate chips or chocolate shavings next time. Also, I "wetted" the chips then put them in with the flour mixture before mixing in with the wet. This coated them and helped to prevent the chocolate from falling to the bottom. These muffings are also wonderful with homemade cream cheese frosting! oops one more thing, I found 400 was too high and burned the outside. 375 for 20 minutes was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
525 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I doubled this recipe to make 2 dozen muffins. I made the following changes to the recipe: applesauce in place of the oil, I used the entire can of pumpkin and the whole bag of chocolate chips. I also just used PAM spray rather than liners or shortening + flour in the pans. I followed the other reviews and only set the oven to 350. They were done in 20 minutes and tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I love these muffins! I make them two different ways: exactly as in the recipe (except maybe with a little more pumpkin) and with cream cheese. Put half the normal amount of batter in each muffin cup, then add a dollop of cream cheese with a little bit of sugar added and finally put the rest of the batter on top. Bake as the recipe states. The muffins come out with a little surprise in the middle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I just finished making a batch of these and they turned out fantastic. I did, however, make some modifications. Instead of oil, I used apple sauce to cut down on the fat (you can't even tell there's no added fat!). I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. I would definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
These are very tasty. Suggest doubling the recipe, since a can of pumpkin contains at least 1 1/2 cups- that way, you're not wasting the pumpkin. Replaced oil for apple sauce and are very moist! Always a request from my husband and co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anniemac7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
Incredible muffins! Used mini muffin tins to make bite sized morsels and they turned out beautifully *and* they were so easy! Reduced baking time to 15 minutes for the minis. I also substituted mini chocolate chips. Great flavor - and as others have said - a wonderful surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I am so glad that I used 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of 1/2 cup. I really liked these muffins and so did my husband. He does not like pumpkin but found the pumpkin to be so mild he didn't notice. (I only added 1/2 cup pumpkin instead of 3/4). Also, I substituted apple sauce for oil, used whole wheat flour instead of white flour and brown sugar instead of white; and the muffins came out great! I will certainly make these muffins again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Sooooo gooood! They are the best pumpkin muffins ever! Next time Im gonna skip the choc chips and ice them with cream cheese frosting! Sounds good right?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudMommyof2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 878) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States