Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I really enjoyed these cookies. I made a few changes to make them a little healthier. I substituted the oil with applesauce and used a combination of whole wheat and all-purpose flour. I also added more spices (ground cloves, ginger, and nutmeg). Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
780 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
These cookies are delicious and cake-like! Every fall - it never fails - when the leaves start turning and the weather gets crisp I start getting requests for these cookies - it's crazy! I make a few slight changes and these cookies turn out PERFECTLY! First of all, I add 3 drops of red food coloring to the 'wet ingredient' mixture (to liven up the pumpkin's orange color). Second, I bake the cookies at 365 degrees for 12 minutes instead of 350 degrees for 10 minutes (which, like others have said is not NEAR enough time to allow the cookies to cook through). And thirdly I place the cookies with a medium sized scoop on a greased cookie sheet, then I slam the cookie sheet down on the table a few times to get them to spread out a little (I find the cook more evenly and also look a lot more attractive). These cookies are served best warm straight from the oven or cold straight from the refridgerator - I wouldn't recommend letting them sit on your counter, even if they are in a covered conatainer - the time I did that they got soggy and melted a little from the heat of our wood stove. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
528 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This was very tastey cookie. However is you really like the pumkin taste as much as my family does, I would recemend putting in 1/4 less cinamin, it tends to cover the pumpkin flavor. The other thing is, don't forget to add the vanilla. It does not say when or where to put it in. If making this for children I suggest adding 3 or 4 drops of red food coloring for the orange pumpkin look, the cookies are not orange after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
460 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
These were the best pumpkin cookies I've ever tried. I did change a few things though: I used fresh not canned pumpkin that I baked and pureed. I also added some ginger, nutmeg, and cloves to the spices. These cookies didn't make it 12 hours in our house and I already have requests for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Just so everyone knows, these are SUPPOSE to be more cake-like cookie. These cookies are extra special in my opinion, these are by far the best. I was using a similar recipe until I found this one and I like this one much more. I added a bit more nutmeg, clove, allspice. I highly recommend these, I can't wait to bake them this fall for potlucks. You can also add a drop or two of orange coloring to get a deeper color of cookie. I like to refrigerate mine and eat them cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This is the best cookie I have ever tasted in my life. I baked these cookies for a bake sale I am having for Breast cancer and in 10 days I have made 10 batches of these cookies they are the most popular. The only thing I changed is that I added 1 TSP of Nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I love these cookies! Just as the submitter states - these are like a combination of pumpkin pie and chocolate. They have a cake like consistency which is great for these cookies. I used milk chocolate chips and took the advice of others and added 4 drops of red food dye to the wet ingredients to give it that rich pumpkin color. I also used 1 tsp. of cinnamon, 1 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice, and 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. I'll be sure to make these every fall season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Great recipe.....I did use 100% whole wheat flour in place of white flour and I used 1/2c. homemade applesauce in place of the oil. They were perfect, love the pumpkin flavor with the chocolate chips. My daughters loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
These were just okay for us. They had a cake-like consistency, and weren't attractive. If I make them again, I will use mini muffin tins & pass them off as muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This recipe is just like the one we used in the bakery, we also put orange butter cream icing on top, wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,089) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States