Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars because I altered it so much, I'm not sure its fair to give it a 5. I couldn't waste HALF a can of pumpkin, so I doubled it right off the bat, using a 15 ounce can of pumpkin. I ran out of flour, so I used half all-purpose and half whole-wheat flour; I ran out of white sugar, so I used half white sugar and half brown sugar. They turned out wonderful- I would say better than any other recipe I've tried! In the future, I will use the half-wheat/half-brown sugar again. Also, I use more spice than most of the pumpkin cookie recipes call for.. so I added a 1/2 tsp of clove, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp of allspice in addition to the cinnamon. divine! Way better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I cut the vegetable oil down to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. The cookies came out moist, firm yet cakey, and held their shape while baking very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I was very disappointed by this recipe - not much flavor. I think it could be improved by adding salt and possibly using brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Setesdal, Aust-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This is a long awaited for recipe that is great. I used whole wheat flour and brown sugar because that was all i had. I also added about 1/4+ tsp. salt. My kids absoulutely love these. A very quick easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEKIRA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I like that these are not strong tasting cookies. Not too sugary. We carved pumpkins and used the carved bits instead of the canned pumpkin and it was delicious! Boil the pumpkin bits like you would potatos them mash. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
Good cookie. Tasted better the next day after they sat awhile. Get sticky so wax paper better layers or a piece of bread in the container (as mentioned by another rater) is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
These are very moist cookie and when storing them I recommend putting a slice a bread with them to help control the stickness. They are a great tasting cookie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
If you like cake like cookies, these are great. I changed the servings to 18 because I didn't want to waste 1/2 cup of pumpkin after opening a small can. Love these and have been making for years! I sometimes ice with peanut butter icing if I have time (i.e. there are still some left when I get around to it! LOL!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
I first used this recipe last fall, and hve been using it since. My kids love to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This cookie is really tasty. I changed a few things too, did 1/2 cup apple sauce (unsweetened), 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup white sugar. I also added 1/2 tsp vanilla, extra spices, and dark chocolate chips. Oh, and I did 1/2 whole wheat flour and a whole can of pumpkin. It ended up making 27 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States