Pumpkin Chipotle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is a good start to a great soup! Without the added additions I found it to be a bit bland. I sautéed an onion before adding the flour, and after adding all ingredients I also added garlic, salt and pepper, extra chipotle pepper, and extra adobo peppers, cayenne, some brown sugar, cinnamon and a hint of nutmeg, and I also added extra With these changes, you will have the most delicious Chipotle Pumpkin Soup! (I like the heat so decrease the amount of chipotle, adobo peppers, and cayenne and it still tastes great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Awesome! We found sofrito in a jar at our local Target, so I don't know how "authentic" it is, but it was good enough to make this soup delicious. This is probably obvious, but use less chipotle for less heat. My family loved this soup so much, we made it twice in two weeks. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made this soup to use up the pumpkin meat when making our jack-o-lanterns, but I never expected everyone's reaction.....more please, and any left? every time I served it. So this year 2 pumpkins, and more soup!! Thanks Chris, much appreciated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I was really excited to try this soup, but was soooo disappointed when I made it. The worcestershire sauce flavor was overwhelming. Recipe calls for 1 tbsp... maybe it's supposed to be 1 tsp?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Delicious! Hubby and I both loved it. So easy and quick. Made this just because it is Fall and wanted to do something with pumpkin. Not even familiar with chipotle peppers before. I used gloves to mess with the peppers in the adobo sauce. I did not see that in a review but maybe just missed it. Definitely did not feel like burning my fingers. Used only 1 pepper in the soup and froze the rest in plastic bags. Used chicken stock because it is what I had on hand. Did not add sofrito. My husband usually likes his soups served hot but I served this closer to a little hotter than warm. The spiciness already made it taste hot. Garnished with sour cream, chopped avocadoes, and chopped tomatoes. Yum. All sorts of extras would be great additions. Did not taste the seeds and suppose the garnishes kept them from being noticeable. Without any garnish, the soup would have been too spicy hot for us and maybe boring after the first few bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Didn't like the combinations of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Perfecto! Never tried pumpkin soup. Not fond of pumpkin but only had in sweet desserts but looking for a starter for my Adovada pork and this was "amazing"; "pumpkin, what a surprise"; etc by our guests. Made as is but had condiment trivet for all to customize per preferences based on others comments which made it fun: roasted garlic clives, carmelized onions, chopped avocado, cilantro, lime wedges & crushed corn chips. Great as is and maybe tad better if possible with additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I've made this several times and this last tweak was the best yet. Forget all that butter and cream! Like others, I used non-fat canned milk. I sauteed a small, finely chopped onion to dark golden, then used used 2-Tablespoons of olive oil to make my roux with the flour and broth (organic veggie broth). I also used 1.5-teaspoons of both ground chipolte powder and smoky paprika (to taste). I was in a hurry and did not make sofrito, but added 1/4-cup chopped cilantro and 1-teaspoon finely minced garlic. If you want a completely creamy version, blend it. We like the slight texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe but instead of adding sofrito- I created my own sautéing onion, bell pepper, tomatoes, chipotle pepper, garlic and cilantro then adding in the flour and following the recipe. It was fantastic and got rave reviews from my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This has a really great flavor. For those of you who are watching your fat and calories like I am I have a few suggestions. I made it with evaporated milk like a few reviewers suggested but I did not get that creamy texture that I think a soup like this should have. The next time I made it I used 3/4 cups of the evaporated milk and added about a heaping 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt and it was really good and kept that silky thick taste. I have not tried this yet but I think Lite Coconut Milk and yogurt would be good too but no quite as low on fat as evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States