Pumpkin Chipotle Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I was so excited about this one - it's quick and healthy and contains some of my favorite flavors. I followed the recipe to the letter, but unfortunately it was really not very good. It needed something, and I can't even figure out what would have saved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
As is, this was way too spicy. The sage was overpowering. I fixed it by adding another cup of chicken broth and another cup of milk. After simmering for another 5 minutes, this tasted wonderful. I recommend cutting all of the spices in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was OK -- admittedly I probably overdid with the chipotle since I added chicken marinated in chipotle with adobo. I might have enjoyed the flavor with less spice, may try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jecausta
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I saw this in the magazine and decided to try it to use up some leftover pumpkin. I took the suggestion to use one chipotle pepper to start with since my kids don't like overly spicy food. It was a hit with the whole family. The sweet pumpkin and smoky chipotle flavors blend nicely together and it was spicy enough for us with one pepper. And the onion and garlic were just enough to enhance the flavor without coming on too strong. My husband even remarked that it seemed like a meaty sauce even though there is no meat in it - just the chicken broth. We ate it over rigatoni - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This is a little strange of a combination, I'll admit, but it works. Very well!!! I have made this many times and it has a great "heat" followed by a sweetness to it. I used canned chipotles and take the seeds out so it's not too hot. I didn't have the sage this last time and it still came out great. This is a recipe that you should really try at least once with pasta. It could always be added to a lasagna type dish as well and I think next time I'm going to add petite peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This recipe was awesome. I added it to spaghetti squash to make a pasta dish, which was good. I did add it to some leftover salmon and it was such a great addition to a protein dish. I recommend adding to chicken, fish, or beef. Overall, loved the smoky, spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I tried this recipe twice- first as is and second with the addition of mushrooms and chopped kale. I definitely preferred the second version. It was pretty spicy, but as long as you are a fan of heat, you will be ok. I liked that it is a fairly healthy recipe, so I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Boys love it. Interesting twist on sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Quick & easy! I only used 1/2 of a chipotle pepper and 1 teaspoon of Splenda; we like a mild heat and a sweet taste. Goes great as a main meal or a perfect side dish either hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I was so excited to make this dish because I love everything pumpkin. Well, evidently not everything. I followed the recipe exactly, but my husband nor I cared for the flavor of this dish. I don't know whether it was the peppers in the adobo sauce or the coriander (neither of which I had had before) or the combination of spices. But obviously, we are in the minority since most of the ratings are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States