Pumpkin Chipotle Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have made this recipe at least 5 times already and I just found it last month. It is excellent, and I love how you can turn up/down the heat factor with the amount of chipotle peppers you add. I love spicy food, so I always add extra, but for those who don't do spicy like that, you can decrease what you add without compromsing the flavor. The pumpkin adds such a great counter to the chipotle. I have played around with the recipe the last two times I made it, and I've found that making a roux first helps with a thick sauce. I saute the onions and garlic in butter (maybe about 1/4 cup) and then add flour to make a thick paste. I then continue on with the recipe by adding the chicken broth, etc. Great recipe either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Loved this! I actually made this in a slow cooker: no butter, did the onions in the chicken broth first, then followed instructions as listed. I used Radiatore pasta. This has a big (and YUMMY) kick, but if you don't handle spicy well, you could half the chipotle. Also, if you wanted some protein, this would pair well with chicken. Great for a fall twist on pumpkin, but I will be making this year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I liked this quite a bit. I added more onion because I like it and didnt realize until the very end I was out of coriander! Very tasty sauce and a nice change from a tomao based one.. healthy too. I'll def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Instead of using the peppers in sauce, I used 1/2 tsp. chipotle pepper seasoning, water instead of broth, and used soy milk instead of cow's milk. Once you accustom yourself to the spiciness of the sauce, it is great! I prefer this to a tomato based sauce on homemade noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
As is, this was way too spicy. The sage was overpowering. I fixed it by adding another cup of chicken broth and another cup of milk. After simmering for another 5 minutes, this tasted wonderful. I recommend cutting all of the spices in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was really, really good. Served it with poached chicken and fettucini. The spice level was intense but eating it slowly plus a nice glass of wine with dinner helped cut the burn. I'll definitely make this again - I can imagine it being amazing on pork chops, I don't think this is limited to pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJSayaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Unique creamy sauce if you like pumpkin; so easy. Although you can't detect the cinnamon, it's definitely a must. I added extra chipotle. I liked it! Thanks Kristincsw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I am sitting here eating this and it's so good, I had to rate it before I was even finished! To make it vegan, I omitted the butter (used olive oil spray) and chicken broth (used vegan chix flavored). I used fat free soy milk, too. I also used about 3/4 of an onion, chopped. I started making this before realizing I didn't have any sage or coriander, so I just used Italian blend instead. I served it over whole wheat penne. My throat is feeling the heat and I am loving this! For anyone on weight watchers, making it without the butter makes this a Core recipe! Bonus :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I was so excited about this one - it's quick and healthy and contains some of my favorite flavors. I followed the recipe to the letter, but unfortunately it was really not very good. It needed something, and I can't even figure out what would have saved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I saw this in the magazine and decided to try it to use up some leftover pumpkin. I took the suggestion to use one chipotle pepper to start with since my kids don't like overly spicy food. It was a hit with the whole family. The sweet pumpkin and smoky chipotle flavors blend nicely together and it was spicy enough for us with one pepper. And the onion and garlic were just enough to enhance the flavor without coming on too strong. My husband even remarked that it seemed like a meaty sauce even though there is no meat in it - just the chicken broth. We ate it over rigatoni - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States