Pumpkin Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Delicious! I cut sugar from 2 Cups down to 1 & 1/2 C. Also cut oil from 1 & 1/2 Cups to 1/2 C. oil and substituted a 1/2 C. applesauce. I used a bag of mini choc. chips and made them into mini muffins. Took these to my kids MMO (Mother's Morning Out) class for a Thanksgiving treat. Would probably cut back choc. chips next time to just a Cup as the pumpkin taste was a little overwhelmed by the choc. chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Quick and tasty. Too much oil as written. 1 cup of oil is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Great muffin! I made these for Thanksgiving. Listened to alot of the prior variations. Used 1/4 cup oil and 1 1/2 cups of applesause. Added 1tsp. pumpkin pie spice. They were great! The key to keeping them moist for days is to wrap each muffin individualy. I wraped them like that and they were VERY moist for 4 days!! Great gift idea too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
When I first took a bite of one of these hot muffins, the first word out of my mouth was "WoW." I didn't follow the recipe exactly b/c I didn't have everything, changed things here and there, doubled the recipe AND I took the advice of others. //Here are some things that I changed: /**decreased oil to two cups (in a single recipe, it would have been reduced from 1 1/2 cups to 1 cup [would have preferred to use part applesauce but was out])** /**used whole wheat flour and added wheat gluten** /**The cinnamon was freshly ground** /**added 1/2 a teaspoon of ground cloves [I might have added more except it was my first time and I didn't want to botch a doubled recipe}** / **Instead of semisweet chocolate chips, Guittard [brandname] Choc-Au-Lait (white chips)were used** TIP: Keep an eye on muffins after 14-16 minutes -they MAY BE overcooked or slightly burned at around 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEET_KITTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
These are very good - even my picky 6 year old loves them. I took previous advice and only used one cup of oil. I also increased pumpkin by 25% and used mini chocolate chips. We make them several times in the fall and freeze them. Then we just take a couple out at a time to eat. We love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made a half recipe of this. Instead of vegetable oil, I used melted butter. I didn't want to use a whole 3/4 cup of melted butter so I cut the amount in half again and used more pumpkin. I cut the sugar back to a half cup for a HALVED recipe and I used half of a bag of Hershey's cinnamon chips that I had on hand instead of chocolate chip only because I was out. I was a little concerned about the muffin batter because it was so thick but these turned out beautifully. And the smell? Oh my goodness. The one issue I have is there isn't enough cinnamon. Next time, I'll double the amount of cinnamon or use a teaspoon or so of pumpkin pie spice. Texture wise, these were wonderful and I didn't miss the sugar or butter that would have been in them had I not cut the amounts in half. NOTE: I always bake my muffins at 350 for 20 minutes. That was absolutely spot on baking temperature/time for these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
These muffins were moist, good and easy to make, but a bit to oily for my taste. The second time I made them I decreased the oil by 1/2 cup and added a 1/2 cup more pumpkin, vanilla and spice (cinnamon and nutmeg) much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I made these muffins as a "munchie" for the kids at our Thanksgiving get-together. Instead of making the regular sized muffins, I made mini muffins, using mini chocolate chips. I decreased the oven temperature to 375 and baked them for 10-14 minutes. They turned out GREAT! I ended up having about 80-90 mini-muffins. I took 50 to our Thanksgiving celebration and froze the rest. I should have taken them all -- they were gone within an hour!! I've already forwarded this recipe to 4 people! A huge hit! Thank you, Laurie!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNICKSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durand, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Fantastic muffins - so yummy! I only add 1/4 cup of oil. I don't substitute and the muffins still come out moist and delicious. I'm not sure why so much oil is included in the original recipe. I also use chocolate chunks rather than chips - they are just really really good muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
AWESOME!!! I made this recipe using 1/2 cup peanut oil, 1 cup of applesauce, and I also added 1 cup of chopped walnuts! In addition, I added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg along with the cinnamon, and used just one cup of milk chocolate chips. Excellent! I will be making this again very soon! Laurie, thanks for a great new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya28574

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richlands, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States