Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Mmmmmm! So good! Sweet and spicy. I used brown sugar instead of white, a whole cup of pumpkin and added a strong dash of cumin. This warm and inviting- perfect for a Fall or Winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Lemme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
The pumpkin and spices added an interesting twist to this chili. For the pumpkin pie spice I used a scant 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. each of ginger and nutmeg, and scant 1/4 tsp. cloves. I increased the chili powder to 2 T and decreased the sugar to 2 T. I also added a little red pepper. I served this with pumpkin cornbread (from this site) using up the rest of the can of pumpkin. I've decided to change my original rating from a 4 to 5, because this chili just keeps tasting better and better and quite addicting the longer it sits. I gave it a 4 before mainly due to the fact that I had to add more chili powder and red pepper, but with those added it is definitely a 5 and with those pumpkin cornbread muffins, has become my favorite fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very tasty! I tried it different ways using diff ingredients and it was great every time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This recipe was "okay." Not the best chili I've had. I was disappointed that I really couldn't taste any pumpkin. And I had to add a lot more chili powder than what it called for. One tablespoon wasn't nearly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
It was fantastic. We were sorry we ate it all. It had the most amazing spicy flavor. Rich in sides of a good dish. Will make it most of the time when i make chili. I use my home frozen pumpkin from the garden, wonderful. Pat thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kurisitaru
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Super yummy. I added minced garlic and some jallipinos which I did not notice were in my diced tomatoes! But... It made it pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made this in a crockpot (so easy to put together!) for my husband's Halloween potluck and it got ratings of 8-10 from his coworkers. I did add a 398 ml can worth of pumpkin, and upped the spices: chili powder to 3-4 Tbsp, added 2 cloves of garlic (more next time), 2 tsp cumin, and salt and pepper I kept the pumpkin spice the same. I used a 700 ml can tomato sauce &1/2 cup water instead of juice (texture was perfect, we like it thick), and black beans, so he could call it pumpkin stew with beetles. I cooked the meat, onion and peppers the night before and drained the fat. In the morning it took 5 min to put it all in the crockpot and stir it up. Will likely make again next fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
So delicious will make next year too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Schreiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karyn Shea
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made this at the deli I work at. I added black beans and a whole can if pumpkin. Also jalapeños and stewed tomatoes. I did not add sugar but extra cumin, chili powder and cayenne pepper. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Shea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Loved it!!! Used the Whole can of pumpkin and added garlick, REALLY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Romp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States