Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Loved this recipe! It's a great way to change up traditional chili. I used 1 lb. ground beef and 1 lb. venison steak cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Absolutely the best chili! About half way through dinner I told our kids there was pumpkin in it and they did a slight recoil in their seats, but then kept right on eating. The house smelled like Skyline Chili while it was simmering for an hour. It doesn't taste like Skyline (and it isn't supposed to), but we do love that smell. I made the following changes and can't wait to make this again this fall and winter: no bell pepper - doesn't suit some of our stomachs; substitute 1 of the cans of kidney beans with a can of black beans; substitute V8 for the tomato juice; use more pumpkin - I had a partial can to use, maybe a cup, wouldn't hesitate to use a full can next time; use less pumpkin pie spice (1/2 t.); use less sugar (1/8 cup); add 1 t. cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
this was good but needed a little tweaking. i didn't even use half the tomato juice and it was still very liquidy. the taste was good though. i like a mild chili so this was perfect for me but my family likes it a little spicier, so they added red pepper flakes to their bowls. i also substituted ground turkey for the ground beef and doubled the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
It was tastey and unique. Loved the flavor, but I feel like it was missing something. Also, it was VERY meaty. It is worth making again though. Next time I will double the pumpkin, half the meat, add about 3 cloves of minced garlic, and add some smokey flavor. Also, I think red onions would be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as it was posted. I had to doctor it so much.The chili still came out just OK. I will not be making this again. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't worth the time to make it. I did like the flavor of the spice, but didn't find that there was a good balance between the acid and sweetness. Although it was good and ok, after each bite I kept saying...."it's just missing something.." On to find another pumpkin chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I really loved this chili. I've tried a few different chili recipes on this site, and this is one might be my favorite. I couldn't really taste the pumpkin, so next time, I think I'll add a bit more. I didn't have any tomato juice, so I used tomato sauce instead. I think this resulted in a thicker chili, which was fine with me, but I think it would have been good with the juice too. I also added a little salt, and used a combination of kidney, black, and pinto beans. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Recipe looks great, but I haven't yet prepared it. Although I appreciate the ideas from reviewers who make changes, I would appreciate it more if they would: 1) prepare the recipe as written first, 2) then prepare the recipe using their own creativity, 3) and lastly review it after testing both versions. I really hate having to sift through all the 5 star reviews of people rating their own recipes highly. I'd like to see the ratings of the original recipe first. 3 stars only because I haven't prepared the recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is a really good recipe, but it should say season to taste because it is pretty bland. I like to add salt and pepper, and more pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I had to tweak it too much to give it any more stars. It was extremely bland. I will definitely not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thunderwoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
We have had an annual chili party at our farm for 28 years. We cook three kinds of chili, 15 gallons of each in cast iron kettles over an open fire. We serve one kettle of hot spiced, one kettle of mild spiced, and one kettle of a specialty chili. Each year has been a different specialty recipe with this year being this Pumpkin recipe. We had over 125 guests and the Pumpkin received the most compliments of any specialty chili we have featured. It was curiously delicious and very appropriate for the Fall season. Our rule is to never repeat a recipe but that may have to change!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States