Pumpkin Chili Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Hey can we get some extra stars for this recipe? It was just fabulous. I made a few minor alternations: Left out the red bell pepper since it bothers my stomach, used ground turkey breast, used pinquito beans since that was what was in the cupboard, used frozen corn since I had an open box and went heavier on the chili, cumin and garlic. Oh yes. I also added some fresh chopped spinach. I tasted this last night after cooking and it was very good. Today I had this for lunch and I couldn’t stop saying “ Mmmmmm” the whole time. If you can make this the day before you plan to serve it, I really recommend it. I served this with a savory corn muffin. This would be a great recipe for thanksgiving leftovers.. Used diced turkey meat and leftover pumpkin. Any additional veggies would be good in this as well. I’ll make this again soon, that’s for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made a vegetarian version, used 2 cans of black beans and one can of pinto beans. I increased the spices/seasonings, added extra corn and some chopped green bell pepper also. I blended my tomatoes up before adding as I don't like tomato chunks in my soups/chili's :-) This is really good and so good for you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I don't know how I first came across this recipe but when I did, I was very intrigued! Thank goodness for the positive reviews because I never would have given it a second thought otherwise! I had a can of pumpkin left over from the holdiays that I wanted to use up. I regularly have all of the other indgredients on hand, so I decided to try it. I browned the turkey, onions and garlic on the stove and then threw the mixture in the crockpot, along with everything else. Cooked all day on low. This chili is great! I was wary to eat it because I was afraid it would taste like pumpkin. It does not taste like pumpkin! It's a great, tasty, thick chili. (Easy to make, too). I didn't tell my husband about the "secret indgredient" until after dinner was over. He was totally amazed! He loved it too. I served it with sour cream, corn muffins and a green salad. Even my almost-3-year old ate this and loved it! What a great recipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Pumpkin in chili?! I had to try this. It was really tasty! Turkey is the perfect meat to use because of its mild flavor and the corn gave it all such a fresh taste. A keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I’ve never been a fan of chili, so when I make it it’s to please others who are. But I sure did love this! The fact that I might taste the pumpkin didn’t concern me - I wouldn’t have cared if I could. But the fact is, you don’t taste it – what you taste is incredibly darn good chili, that isn’t overly seasoned with chili powder. I don’t ever use ground turkey (icky) so I used ground beef instead. I used my own tomato sauce put up from my garden. As for the green chilies, I substituted chopped, fresh roasted poblano peppers. I also added a good pinch of dried Mexican oregano. I could tell Hubs wasn’t quite as fond of this as I was but I should have never told him there was pumpkin in it, which I think made him think there had to be something weird about this. As for me, I thought it was perfect. It didn’t really need it, but I served this with a dab of sour cream and chopped green onion which made it look all pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
We loved this chili -- very hearty! I also loved the extra healthiness the pumpkin provided, and I think that made the food taste even better in my mind (an added benefit to all already great tasting chili). As other reviewers said, you don't even taste the pumpkin, but I think it adds a nice texture and thickness to the chili. **Added note: I made this again and made it a little healthier the second time around by using olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and using "no salt added" canned products where I could (tomatoes, corn).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I made this early in the morning, followed recipe except doubled spices. I wasn't thrilled with the results (the consistency was great, the taste...not so much). I even asked members what to do to give it more "chili" taste. I ended up not doing anything more to it. NOW IT'S ABOUT 6 HOURS LATER and I just came home. Couldn't resist another taste test.....WHAT A DIFFERENCE! This is very good and I would definitely make it again.s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patricia3096

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I've been making this for over a year now. Have never used ground turkey, only leftover baked turkey. Made it once with chicken & it was still great. You'll have a pile of empty cans & wonder what the heck you are doing, but believe me..IT'S SO WORTH IT!!! Trust the pumpkin!!! I freeze half to enjoy later!!! LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTHAMAEMCB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I was very concerned with the pumpkin ingredient but the chili came out surprisingly good and my family loved it. I did end up modifying based on what I had at home. I didn't use the ingredients I didn't have on hand (vegetable oil, bell pepper, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, green chiles, corn, cumin). I ended up with more turkey because I added one entire package of Jennie-O turkey (1.25 lbs). I heated olive oil and then added garlic and onions. After adding the turkey, I seasoned with 1 tsp salt and crushed red pepper; 1 TB dried oregano, basil, and chili powder. I didn't need to drain once the turkey was browned. I then added 2 cans stewed italian tomatoes, pumpkin, 2 cans of beans (undrained), 1/2-3/4 cup salsa, 1/2 cup beer. Instead of 30 minutes, I actually cooked it for about 1 1/2 hours. I would have cooked it longer if I had the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
I really enjoyed this dish. My family are hard sells and even they liked it. You would never guess that it had pumpkin in it. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States