Pumpkin Chili Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Very nice! Sub'd out turkey for some roasted chicken. Decreased oil to 1T and added 1/2T butter (for carmelization). Started chili at 3p, followed recipe then let cool for 1.5 hrs and reheated. Marrys the flavors well without having to wait overnight. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This was excellent! No one had a clue that it contained pumpkin, although I do think the pumpkin gave it a slightly creamier texture than normal chili. I didn't have any tomato sauce on hand so I substituted a 15 oz. can of chicken broth. It was still very thick and the flavor was great. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
If I hadn't read the reviews, I probably wouldn't have tried this recipe. I mean, pumpkin in chili??? But it tastes great! You really can't tell there is pumpkin in it. I do recommend that you wait until the next day to eat it. All chili tastes better after the ingredients get to "know each other". A smart way to add extra vitamins and your kids will never know. Great served over brown rice and topped with a little sour cream and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
So good. A big hit with my family. I didn't add peppers, but it didn't seem to matter. My husband was shocked when i told him there was pumpkin in it! You'd never know. Turkey is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I was very concerned with the pumpkin ingredient but the chili came out surprisingly good and my family loved it. I did end up modifying based on what I had at home. I didn't use the ingredients I didn't have on hand (vegetable oil, bell pepper, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, green chiles, corn, cumin). I ended up with more turkey because I added one entire package of Jennie-O turkey (1.25 lbs). I heated olive oil and then added garlic and onions. After adding the turkey, I seasoned with 1 tsp salt and crushed red pepper; 1 TB dried oregano, basil, and chili powder. I didn't need to drain once the turkey was browned. I then added 2 cans stewed italian tomatoes, pumpkin, 2 cans of beans (undrained), 1/2-3/4 cup salsa, 1/2 cup beer. Instead of 30 minutes, I actually cooked it for about 1 1/2 hours. I would have cooked it longer if I had the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Hey can we get some extra stars for this recipe? It was just fabulous. I made a few minor alternations: Left out the red bell pepper since it bothers my stomach, used ground turkey breast, used pinquito beans since that was what was in the cupboard, used frozen corn since I had an open box and went heavier on the chili, cumin and garlic. Oh yes. I also added some fresh chopped spinach. I tasted this last night after cooking and it was very good. Today I had this for lunch and I couldn’t stop saying “ Mmmmmm” the whole time. If you can make this the day before you plan to serve it, I really recommend it. I served this with a savory corn muffin. This would be a great recipe for thanksgiving leftovers.. Used diced turkey meat and leftover pumpkin. Any additional veggies would be good in this as well. I’ll make this again soon, that’s for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I thought this was pretty good, but it wasn't an "Oh I must make this again immediately!" recipe. The pumpkin was somewhat odd, but still good. I found it was all better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I've been making this for over a year now. Have never used ground turkey, only leftover baked turkey. Made it once with chicken & it was still great. You'll have a pile of empty cans & wonder what the heck you are doing, but believe me..IT'S SO WORTH IT!!! Trust the pumpkin!!! I freeze half to enjoy later!!! LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTHAMAEMCB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
This is an easy and nutritious recipe. Good for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
good texture, needs some spicing up, I like the taste of the turkey in this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States