Pumpkin Chili Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Do you know how healthy this is? It has 5 of the top 16 foods in it!!! Beans, turkey, pumpkin, onions, & tomatoes! I used the full 1 1/4 lb of ground turkey breast. You might want to add water, as mine was really thick. (my canned tomatoes' juice was pretty thick- I added 1 cup of water to the chili) I also would suggest using 2 cans of kidney beans! It is mild, so if you want it hot, go ahead & add more kick. So easy & fun to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Delicious! I also made it black beans and added extra chili powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
My husband never knew it was healthy....and so YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paojava

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Wow, what an odd ingredient for chili, but this is good. I was looking for something to use up my pumpkin left over from the pumpkin roll up (excellent also!) This is a great healthy meal and fits into the South Beach Diet that I am doing. I used black beans instead of kidney...that is the only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
We loved this chili -- very hearty! I also loved the extra healthiness the pumpkin provided, and I think that made the food taste even better in my mind (an added benefit to all already great tasting chili). As other reviewers said, you don't even taste the pumpkin, but I think it adds a nice texture and thickness to the chili. **Added note: I made this again and made it a little healthier the second time around by using olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and using "no salt added" canned products where I could (tomatoes, corn).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Great chili recipe! I doubled the chili powder and cumin as we like our chili spicy. I also added one small diced hot pepper to the chili. This is a very healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Great! Super thick and good flavor. My boyfriend couldn't taste the pumpkin at all. I used leftover cooked turkey and let it go in the crockpot all day, and it was still a nice thick consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I don't know how I first came across this recipe but when I did, I was very intrigued! Thank goodness for the positive reviews because I never would have given it a second thought otherwise! I had a can of pumpkin left over from the holdiays that I wanted to use up. I regularly have all of the other indgredients on hand, so I decided to try it. I browned the turkey, onions and garlic on the stove and then threw the mixture in the crockpot, along with everything else. Cooked all day on low. This chili is great! I was wary to eat it because I was afraid it would taste like pumpkin. It does not taste like pumpkin! It's a great, tasty, thick chili. (Easy to make, too). I didn't tell my husband about the "secret indgredient" until after dinner was over. He was totally amazed! He loved it too. I served it with sour cream, corn muffins and a green salad. Even my almost-3-year old ate this and loved it! What a great recipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Fabulous! I made this for a friend and saved some for myself. It was great, and I never would have guessed there was pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
THIS RECIPE TURNED OUT GREAT. PUMPKIN DOESN'T ADD ALOT OF FLAVOR BUT GIVES IT A GOOD TEXTURE. WOULD DEFINETLY MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States