Pumpkin Chili Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
excellent..I didn't tell my husband about the pumpkin but asked him what he thought and he said "sweet". I used hamburg instead of the turkey, other than that I followed the recipe exactly. This might replace my chili recipe that I have used for years, it was that good. Thick, sweet yet a bit of spice and just really good! A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was fantastic. As others have said, you can't taste the pumpkin but it has a thick texture- very hearty and yummy! My husband, who freaked a little when he saw the pumpkin, loved it! I do think I will add a can of chicken broth to it next time- just to stretch it a bit. Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I make this for ever "soup event" and everyone always asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Great recipe! I made the chili this weekend for the Men's Chili Cook-off at my church. I won first prize! It has some kick to it, and everyone loved the texture. Excellent chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
What a great flavor to this chili. It was so easy and I know it's healthy for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegWells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Very flavorful chili. I love the thickness and flavor the pumpkin gives to it. I do put a TBS of sugar in mine to cut the acidity (at least that's what my mom always did with chili!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J HUTCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This was okay, somewhat bland for my tastes. It did seem to get a little better the next day. If I were to make it again I would really bump up the spices and use ground turkey that contained some dark meat. I find that all white meat ground turkey can be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This is a very quick and easy recipe. I did use canned pinto beans instead of the kidney. For my familys taste I doubled the chili powder and cumin, then added some red pepper flakes. I guess we just needed a bit more spice. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Great recipe! I loved the "secret" ingredient. We have young kids and they like their food mild, so it was just fine for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States