Pumpkin Chili Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I’ve never been a fan of chili, so when I make it it’s to please others who are. But I sure did love this! The fact that I might taste the pumpkin didn’t concern me - I wouldn’t have cared if I could. But the fact is, you don’t taste it – what you taste is incredibly darn good chili, that isn’t overly seasoned with chili powder. I don’t ever use ground turkey (icky) so I used ground beef instead. I used my own tomato sauce put up from my garden. As for the green chilies, I substituted chopped, fresh roasted poblano peppers. I also added a good pinch of dried Mexican oregano. I could tell Hubs wasn’t quite as fond of this as I was but I should have never told him there was pumpkin in it, which I think made him think there had to be something weird about this. As for me, I thought it was perfect. It didn’t really need it, but I served this with a dab of sour cream and chopped green onion which made it look all pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was pretty good. i made it without meat to make it vegetarian. It was missing something spice wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I think this is my new favorite chili recipe. Great chili flavor and you would never know it contains pumpkin. My only changes were to add an additional can of beans and I used an entire can of corn. I can't wait to share this one at a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is great! I did not add the green pepper because we do not care for them too much. I, also, did not add the salt. The canned veggies have more than enough already. After cooking the turkey, onions and garlic, I threw everything in the crock pot and let it cook on low for a few hours. It was an easy dinner to have while watching the Cardinals in the National League playoffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Photo by ItsDelish!
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Don't let the pumpkin scare you off! This recipe was GREAT and SUPER easy!! After cooking the ground turkey with veggies I put all of the ingredients into a slow cooker. I left it alone for about 2 hours stirring it occasionally. When it was nice and hot I served with a dollop of sour cream and shredded cheddar. Verryyy yummy! Salt, pepper, and sugar to taste =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsDelish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Le Roy, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made a vegetarian version, used 2 cans of black beans and one can of pinto beans. I increased the spices/seasonings, added extra corn and some chopped green bell pepper also. I blended my tomatoes up before adding as I don't like tomato chunks in my soups/chili's :-) This is really good and so good for you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is a pretty good pumpkin chili. It's not nearly seasoned enough though. I added a LOT more chili powder, cumin, Mexican oregano, and a couple other things to mine, but each to his own. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I love this! It’s so good but inexpensive and guilt free! I followed the recipe exactly, taste tested, and then added a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg just to hint at the secret ingredient (pumpkin). It wasn’t needed, but I love cinnamon and nutmeg so any excuse I have to use it I will and I liked the light spicy flavor it gave the chili. You can’t taste the pumpkin at all, it just lends to the texture making a nice creamy decadent sauce without adding those pesky fats and calories. I fed 4 people with it, and still had most of the pot leftover so I froze the rest for another dinner another day. This stuff is so good I couldn’t stop eating it, and you know what? I don’t even mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I made this early in the morning, followed recipe except doubled spices. I wasn't thrilled with the results (the consistency was great, the taste...not so much). I even asked members what to do to give it more "chili" taste. I ended up not doing anything more to it. NOW IT'S ABOUT 6 HOURS LATER and I just came home. Couldn't resist another taste test.....WHAT A DIFFERENCE! This is very good and I would definitely make it again.s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patricia3096

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
It's still simmering and I already love it! My package of extra-lean ground turkey was just over a pound, but I used it all. I used light kidney beans and added a can of drained black beans, as well as a whole can of corn. Like another reviewer, I added some extra liquid, but I used low-sodium chicken stock. I also left out the salt. It smells wonderful and looks so pretty! Can't wait for supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bristow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States