Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
YUMMY!!! I made this and it was a hit. I did have to cook mine 15 min longer and I didn't use the nuts in the crust. I would make this again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Excellent, never had one that was so delicious. Everyone at the dinner party raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Good recipe. I made it just as written and I didn't experience any of the troubles others reported, such as the crust being too high. If your cheesecake sinks, you're doing something wrong. Mine came out perfectly flat on top. I used the water bath, and no cracks. If your water bath is leaking, it's not because you didn't wrap the foil tight enough. It's because you used small foil. Get the large roll (18" wide) and tear off a big hunk, you'll have no problem, and it's cheaper than buying a turkey bag. Do heat the bath water up first, and be sure to check the water level during baking, top up as needed with more hot water. I had a little cheesecake mix left over so I tried making a couple cupcakes as some suggested, putting a gingersnap on the bottom of the cup and covering with the "batter". Didn't work out at all. Ugly, wrinkled and didn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
has a great flavor and i love the crust that goes with it as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
If I could give this recipe 6 stars, I would! Omg, this was fabulous. I have to say that I didn't take the time to get gingersnaps or nuts, so I made my own graham cracker crust. Even with that change, the cheesecake was great. Everyone who ate it was blown away and I will SURELY make this again in the future. One more thing, I didn't have any "maple" syrup so I just used the plain old pancake/waffel syrup I had in my pantry and I couldn't tell the difference, it came out fine. All in all, this will be a family tradition from now on every Fall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This is the BEST cheesecake! I altered recipe as follows, turned out PERFECT: Crust: -Omitted brown sugar -4 Tbs butter (instead of 6) -Pecans instead of hazelnuts Cake: -Use REAL CREAM CHEESE (w/o gums or stabilizers; comes in a tube instead of brick and is naturally soft) -Use 1/2 FRESH ROASTED PUMPKIN (instead of canned); cut a medium pumpkin in 1/2, scoop out seeds and brush w/ a little butter & salt, roast at 350 for one hour, scoop out of shell & into cream cheese mixture (no electric tools needed, a wooden spatula works great!) -REDUCE SUGAR - use 1/2 cup dark brown sugar & 1/2 cup grade B organic maple syrup -Use 1/3 cup sour cream instead of heavy cream -Use 1/2 tsp vanilla powder instead of extract (to eliminate alcohol taste) -REDUCE EGGS - use 2 eggs instead of 4. In general I've found that cakes can be made w/ 1/2 the amount of sugar/butter/eggs called for and taste much better! In this I love the flavor & texture of FRESH pumpkin! Showcase the star ingredient, don't drown it out w/ sugar & eggs. Seriously, this tastes so much better with REAL FRESH ingredients - real cream cheese (instead of hard, sticky, gummy bricks of cheese) and FRESH ROASTED pumpkin (instead of slimy runny canned pumpkin). Give it a try! Also, I turned the oven off after about an hour and 20 minutes and just let it continue cooking/cooling for another 45 minutes or so in the oven - no cracking or sinking. A work of art!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
WOW. Just as is. The chosen cookie can make a difference in spice combination of course. I like Stauffer's brand gingersnaps. Served this with vanilla bean whipped cream (I keep 10x sugar on hand with snipped beans for fragrance and flavor). Oh my!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Witzig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Photo by Desert Moon
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
One of the best cheesecakes I have ever made/had. It is so very rich and creamy. I love both pumpkin & cheesecake so this was a perfect combination! I am not a baker but after seeing this, I just had to try it. We absolutely loved it! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Moon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made this cheesecake into muffin cups like someone had suggested. Honestly, it didn't do much for me. I probably wouldn't use this recipe again. Maybe it's better when it's a full cheesecake rather than muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Gave this a 3 star rating only because it works more as a base recipe than the real deal (but if I were a first time cheesecake maker, this would be a great recipe!). I just made this tonight as individual cheesecakes in a muffin pan and they were tasty but missing something. I'll definitely try this again but I'll be sure to follow some of the modifications listed in the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States