Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used this crust with regular cheesecake on top and my husband would not stop raving about the crust. I also substituted pecans for the hazelnuts, since I'm not a big fan of hazel nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Excellent alternative to pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Awesome! I made this for my family and for my husband's family and they all loved it! Very easy recipe and tasted great. I substituted the hazelnuts for pecans and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I loved this recipe. It was very easy to do and tasted great. This was my first time trying to make a cheese cake and it turned out awesome. Everyone loved it. Next time I will follow the advise of another and put it in a water bath because mine did crack pretty bad. But I think it was great for a first timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
First let me just say I'm rating the recipe on the flavor combination. I flaked out and forgot to make it the night before so I had to improvise and make a no bake cheesecake. I mixed the softened cream cheese, maple syrup, vanilla, brown sugar and pumpkin for the filling. The crust I made out of the crushed gingersnaps and crused almonds. My variation came out wonderfully and everyone loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Never made this fancy kind of cheesecake before. But was pleasantly surprised with the result! Will definitely make again!! Listened to others suggestions: make CERTAIN to use a waterbath when baking; used 4 T of butter; used 1/4 c ground hazelnuts; added 1/2 t nutmeg. Will try another suggestion when I make again: bake for just over 1 hour, then turn oven off for final 30 min. This should make the texture more creamier. Absolutely best if eaten the following day after being in the refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I have never made cheesecake before, and this recipe was amazing! No one would eat the other pies that we had for Thanksgiving. I did have difficulty crushing the gingersnap cookies, but I would not eliminate the for anything. The edges turn slightly brown (before the center had set) is there a way to avoid this? It didn't taste the least bit burnt, so I thought it was just how the gingersnap crust cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was good, but not what my expectations thought it would be like. The crust was really good, the filling wasn't very firm like cheesecake, it was very silky, mouth fill was not what I was used to. Not very spicey, thought it could be a little more punchy. The family liked it but it wasn't the first thing to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Plahn Byers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I've made this a few times now and I love this concept. I've made it with both pecans and hazelnuts. I double the spices, and have also used fresh pumpkin which gives it such a different texture and flavor. I make this as opposed to pumpkin pie, and I like this much better. Still experimenting with the crust, as it does get soggy, but I think this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Delicious! I made it with pecans and added some more ginger to the crust. I will make this again and again. Thank you! Lenora43
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States