Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used the water bath,my cheesecake did not crack,it came out beautiful. The crust was so soggy a couple days after,too greasy. I cut down the butter after reviews,so I guess it needs to cut down more and use more gingersnaps. Why grease when there is so much grease already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this for Christmas Eve and it got rave reviews. The crust makes this cheesecake! I left out the hazelnuts and used 2 cups gingersnaps. I also used one additional cream cheese and added more spices as I had to fill a 10 inch springform pan. I baked it in a water bath for 75 minutes and then left it in the oven to cool for an hour. I wrapped the pan with foil and an oven turkey bag for extra measure to prevent it from getting wet in the water bath. The cheesecake came out perfect-no cracks and easily cut into pieces which I topped with fresh whipped cream and a sprinkle of nutmeg. The cheesecake had an wonderful texture--very smooth and creamy. Next time I will make the crust after making my own gingersnaps. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Did not like this at all. May just be personal preference or my inexperience making cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was tasty, but not amazing. Made it for tanksgiving. The butter in the crust was too much, as it came out very greasy. Unfortunately, nobody wanted to take the rest of this home with the leftovers. My mom told me she thought it was too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was my first time to bake a cheesecake and this one was wonderful! The only change I made was using pecans instead of hazelnuts. It did not crack in the middle and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving, very good. I would highly recommed leaving out the maple syrup, the maple is too overwhelming. My cheesecake did have cracks, but once it settled and cooled they were almost gone. Wonderful addition to Thanksgiving besdies the same old pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Came out great! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This cheesecake was good when it was first served, but actually got better after being in the fridge for a few days. I would recommend toasting the nuts (I subbed pecans) before using them for a richer flavor & making it 2 days in advance of when you want to serve it to let the flavors fully develop. We also felt the texture improved after a few days; it became more dense which we like. I served it simply with some whipped cream on the side & it got rave reviews all Thanksgiving weekend. This cake can serve 12 easily; you'll get gigantic servings (truly too big as it is very rich) if you stick w/ the 8 serving yield. I've already had requests to make it again, so it's become a new holiday 'must have'. Thanks for sharing a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Creamy cool pumpkin goodness! This is one excellent dessert and a nice change from the standard pumpkin pie. I doubled the crust by adding an equal amount of vanilla wafers but left everything for the filling the same. I will definitely be making this one again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Wow! This was yummy!!! I agree with other users, there was too much butter in the crust... I would leave out at least 1 Tablespoon... but still very good. I used walnuts in place of hazlenuts and it was great! ALSO, you must have a food processer for those ginger snaps or it's impossible. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States