Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made this cheesecake into muffin cups like someone had suggested. Honestly, it didn't do much for me. I probably wouldn't use this recipe again. Maybe it's better when it's a full cheesecake rather than muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Gave this a 3 star rating only because it works more as a base recipe than the real deal (but if I were a first time cheesecake maker, this would be a great recipe!). I just made this tonight as individual cheesecakes in a muffin pan and they were tasty but missing something. I'll definitely try this again but I'll be sure to follow some of the modifications listed in the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
DEElish... we really enjoyed this for our thanksgiving dinner! Didn't have hazelnuts so I used walnuts..served with whipcream maple flavoured. Next time I would double spice and crust..just for our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I didn't have any hazelnuts so I used walnuts instead. The gingersnaps really make this an interesting cheesecake. It's a wondeful fall treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was really pretty good but I didn't like the allspice taste or maybe it was the maple syrup. I did use the nuts but used vanilla wafers as gingersnaps is not my favorite. If I try it again I will use corn syrup, some nutmeg and dash of cloves. An old trick my Mom always did was separate eggs; whip whites and than fold in. It has the same flavor but a lighter texture. I have my own version of a water bath: I put in a cold oven a a broiler pan on bottom shelf; fill with water and as the oven gets hot so does the water. This makes it moist without wrapping the bottom of cheesecake pan. I also mixed 1 cup sour cream with 2 T. sugar; spread over hot cheese cake, returned to oven and baked 5 min. more. Next time I would double topping but use only 3 T. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving bc I'm not a huge fan of pecan or plain pumpkin pie. This will be a holiday staple in our house now! Gingersnap crust is a wonderful compliment to the pumpkin yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Excellent great alternative to pumpkin pie. I followed the recipe exactly and had great results. I have made this several times- I have topped it with a sweetened sour cream topping and that works well for a little twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I loved this cheese cake! It was my very first I had ever made and I was impressed! Very good... it didn't last very long in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I modified the recipe based on member suggestions, with mixed results. Positives: the crust was simple and its flavor was great. I used a very crisp, thin ginger snap (easy to crush with a rolling pin after placing in a Ziploc) and no nuts b/c of an allergy. Negatives: there was definitely too much butter in the crust (at least a tablespoon seeped out of the foil when I took that off) and even though I cooked it 75 min. and also left it in the oven for an hour as many members suggested, the cheesecake was still too soft in the center. Also, it might just be that I prefer regular cheesecake to the pumpkin, but the flavor wasn't the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
It was good, but I think next time I'm going to turn the heat down a bit to avoid having to add water to the water bath I use when baking cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States